Posted by: frburke23 | May 11, 2016

Thought for Thursday, 7th Week of Easter

John 17:20-26
Lifting up his eyes to heaven, Jesus prayed saying:
“I pray not only for these,
but also for those who will believe in me through their word,
so that they may all be one,
as you, Father, are in me and I in you,
that they also may be in us,
that the world may believe that you sent me.
And I have given them the glory you gave me,
so that they may be one, as we are one,
I in them and you in me,
that they may be brought to perfection as one,
that the world may know that you sent me,
and that you loved them even as you loved me.
Father, they are your gift to me.
I wish that where I am they also may be with me,
that they may see my glory that you gave me,
because you loved me before the foundation of the world.
Righteous Father, the world also does not know you,
but I know you, and they know that you sent me.
I made known to them your name and I will make it known,
that the love with which you loved me
may be in them and I in them.”
—————————————————————
As we continue to move toward the feast of Pentecost this weekend, we read part of Jesus’ prayer to the Father from John 17. What strikes me in this prayer is the depth of Jesus’ love for us. Jesus’ desire is that we be one with the Holy Trinity, just as Jesus and the Father are one. Jesus realizes that He did all He could do to teach, inspire, evangelize and save everyone that the Father gave Him. There was nothing more than He could do. Now He was entrusting this message of salvation to the Church and those He had called to continue the mission.
It is also striking that Jesus prays for all “those who will believe in me through their word…” In other words, He was praying for me and you in this prayer. We have come to believe through others who have passed on the Word. He was counting on His disciples to share the Good News so that future generations will come to know Jesus and the salvation He offers. I find this very comforting to know that the Lord was praying for me at this time.
I also give thanks to all the men and women before me that have passed on their faith – my parents, grandparents, teachers, priests, sisters, saints, etc. Take time today to thank those who have made you the person of faith that you are.
Then take time to realize that the Lord is also calling you to be one of those men or women who is being called to share the faith so that future generations may believe. You may be the only person that the Lord can use to reach a particular person.
Lord, thank you for your love in my life. Thank you for those who have gone before me in faith. Open my heart to hear your call so that I may share your love with others today. Help me to focus my attention and your love on the person right in front of me today.
 
Do I know the Father’s love as His beloved child?
Do I seek union with the Father, Son and Holy Spirit throughout the day?
What am I doing to ensure future generations will know Jesus Christ?
God bless,
Fr. Burke
Frburke23.wordpress.com
Here is the Spanish translation:
Evangelio según San Juan 17,20-26.
 
En aquel tiempo, Jesús levantó los ojos al cielo y dijo: “Padre, no sólo te pido por mis discípulos, sino también por los que van a creer en mí por la palabra de ellos, para que todos sean uno, como tú, Padre, en mí y yo en ti somos uno, a fin de que sean uno en nosotros y el mundo crea que tú me has enviado.
 
Yo les he dado la gloria que tú me diste, para que sean uno, como nosotros somos uno. Yo en ellos y tú en mí, para que su unidad sea perfecta y así el mundo conozca que tú me has enviado y que los amas, como me amas a mí.
 
Padre, quiero que donde yo esté, estén también conmigo los que me has dado, para que contemplen mi gloria, la que me diste, porque me has amado desde antes de la creación del mundo.
 
Padre justo, el mundo no te ha conocido; pero yo sí te conozco y éstos han conocido que tú me enviaste. Yo les he dado a conocer tu nombre y se lo seguiré dando a conocer, para que el amor con que me amas esté en ellos y yo también en ellos”.
===================
A medida que continuamos avanzando hacia a la fiesta de Pentecostés este fin de semana, leemos parte de la oración de Jesús al Padre de Juan, capítulo 17. Lo que me llama la atención en esta oración es la profundidad del amor de Jesús por nosotros. Él deseo de Jesús es que podamos ser uno con la Santísima Trinidad, así como Jesús y el Padre son uno. Jesús se da cuenta de que hizo todo lo que pudo hacer para enseñar, inspirar, evangelizar y salvar a todos los que el Padre le dio. No había nada más que pudiera hacer. Ahora Él estaba confiando este mensaje de salvación a la Iglesia y aquellos que Él había llamado para continuar la misión.
 
También resulta sorprendente que Jesús ora por todos “los que van a creer en mí por la palabra de ellos…” En otras palabras, Él estaba orando por ti y por mí en esta oración. Hemos llegado a creer a través de otros que han pasado la Palabra. Él estaba contando con Sus discípulos para compartir la Buena Nueva para que las futuras generaciones lleguen a conocer a Jesús y la salvación que Él ofrece. Esto me parece muy reconfortante, saber que el Señor estaba orando por mí en este momento.
 
También doy gracias a todos los hombres y mujeres antes de mí que han pasado su fe – mis padres, abuelos, maestros, sacerdotes, hermanas, Santos, etc. Toma tiempo hoy para darle gracias a los que te hicieron la persona de fe eres.
 
Luego toma tiempo para darte cuenta que el Señor también te está llamando para ser uno de esos hombres o mujeres que está llamado a compartir la fe para que las futuras generaciones puedan creer. Tú podrías ser la única persona la cual el Señor puede utilizar para llegar a una persona en particular.
 
Señor, gracias por tu amor en mi vida. Gracias por los que me han precedido en la fe. Abre mi corazón para escuchar tu llamado para que pueda compartir tu amor con otros el día de hoy. Ayúdame a enfocar mi atención y tu amor en la persona justo en frente de mí hoy.
 
¿Conozco el amor del Padre como Su hijo amado?
¿Busco unión con el Padre, el Hijo y el Espíritu Santo a lo largo del día?
¿Qué estoy haciendo para asegurar que las futuras generaciones conozcan a Jesucristo?
 
Dios te bendiga,
Padre Burke

Leave a Reply

Categories

