Posted by: frburke23 | May 13, 2016

Thought for Friday, 7th Week of Easter

John 21:15-19
After Jesus had revealed himself to his disciples and eaten breakfast with them,
he said to Simon Peter,
“Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?”
Simon Peter answered him, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.”
Jesus said to him, “Feed my lambs.”
He then said to Simon Peter a second time,
“Simon, son of John, do you love me?”
Simon Peter answered him, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.”
He said to him, “Tend my sheep.”
He said to him the third time,
“Simon, son of John, do you love me?”
Peter was distressed that he had said to him a third time,
“Do you love me?” and he said to him,
“Lord, you know everything; you know that I love you.”
Jesus said to him, “Feed my sheep.
Amen, amen, I say to you, when you were younger,
you used to dress yourself and go where you wanted;
but when you grow old, you will stretch out your hands,
and someone else will dress you
and lead you where you do not want to go.”
He said this signifying by what kind of death he would glorify God.
And when he had said this, he said to him, “Follow me.”
=======================
It was near a bonfire that Peter denied Christ three times when He was first being condemned. Now Jesus brings Peter back to a bonfire in today’s Scripture. Peter must have remembered his denials upon seeing the bonfire, but Jesus did this not to condemn Peter. Jesus did not come to condemn the world, but to save it. (see John 3:17) Jesus gives Peter a chance to redeem himself near another bonfire. For each of the three denials, Jesus asks Peter, “Do you love me?”
 
Not only is Peter forgiven, but He is given the keys to the kingdom. The keys symbolize that Peter is now entrusted as leader of the Church to help others get to heaven. Jesus commands him, “Feed my sheep.” Peter and all of his successors are entrusted with this most sacred mission – to lead others to heaven. This great sinner, Peter, has been entrusted to guide the new Church. We can never say, “God cannot use me because I am such a sinner.” Usually the greatest sinners become the greatest disciples after they experience the mercy of Jesus.
 
But Jesus also foretells Peter’s death (Peter was crucified upside down in the area near the current Basilica of St. Peter in Rome). But Jesus still says, “Follow me”. Following Jesus is not going to be easy for any of us. He promises us that there will be suffering and trials. However, He also promises to be with us until the end of time. We should never lose hope. When we are doing the right thing, when we are following Jesus, Good will always prevail in the end.
 
So our Church was founded upon someone who once denied Christ. We have a God who is willing to forgive our faults, and more, is willing to entrust a great responsibility to us. He simply invites each one of us, “Follow me.” Spend time in prayer facing Jesus and hearing these words directly to you, “Follow me.” What is your answer? What gets stirred up inside of you?
Allow His love to transform you from the inside out. Allow the Lord to forgive your sins and then to send you out into the vineyard to share the Good News.
 
He asks you, “Do you love me?” If your response is positive, He responds, “Come follow me.” He may lead us to places that we never dreamed about, but His will is always better than ours.
 
Can you say no to Jesus?
 
He may not hand us keys like He did with Peter. But Jesus does want to gift us with His Holy Spirit in order to carry out His holy will. Prepare your hearts for the outpouring of the Holy Spirit this Sunday at Pentecost!
 
God bless,
Fr. Burke
 
Here is the Spanish translation:
 
Juan 21:15-19
En aquel tiempo, le preguntó Jesús a Simón Pedro: “Simón, hijo de Juan, ¿me amas más que éstos?” Él le contestó: “Sí, Señor, tú sabes que te quiero”. Jesús le dijo: “Apacienta mis corderos”.
 
Por segunda vez le preguntó: “Simón, hijo de Juan, ¿me amas?” Él le respondió: “Sí, Señor, tú sabes que te quiero”. Jesús le dijo: “Pastorea mis ovejas”.
 
Por tercera vez le preguntó: “Simón, hijo de Juan, ¿me quieres?” Pedro se entristeció de que Jesús le hubiera preguntado por tercera vez si lo quería, y le contestó: “Señor, tú lo sabes todo; tú bien sabes que te quiero”. Jesús le dijo: “Apacienta mis ovejas.
 
Yo te aseguro: cuando eras joven, tú mismo te ceñías la ropa e ibas a donde querías; pero cuando seas viejo, extenderás los brazos y otro te ceñirá y te llevará a donde no quieras”. Esto se lo dijo para indicarle con qué género de muerte habría de glorificar a Dios. Después le dijo: “Sígueme”.
===================
Fue cerca de una hoguera que Pedro negó a Cristo tres veces la primera vez que estaba siendo condenado. Ahora Jesús trae de nuevo a Pedro a una hoguera en la Escritura de hoy. Pedro debió de recordar sus negaciones al ver la hoguera, pero Jesús hizo esto no para condenar a Pedro. Jesús no vino para condenar al mundo, sino para salvarlo. (Ver Juan 3:17) Jesús da a Pedro otra oportunidad para remedirse cerca de otra hoguera. Para cada una de las tres negaciones, Jesús le pregunta a Pedro: “¿Me amas?”
 
No sólo Pedro es perdonado, sino que se le dio las llaves del reino. Las llaves simbolizan que ahora a Pedro se le confió como líder de la Iglesia para ayudar a otros a llegar al cielo. Jesús le ordena: “Apacienta mis ovejas” Pedro y todos sus sucesores se les ha confiado esta misión más sagrada – para dirigir a otros al cielo. Este gran pecador, Pedro, se le ha confiado para guiar la nueva Iglesia. Nunca podemos decir: “Dios no me puede utilizar porque soy un gran pecador.” Por lo general, los más grandes pecadores se convierten en los más grandes discípulos después de experimentar la misericordia de Jesús.
 
Pero Jesús también predice la muerte de Pedro (Pedro fue crucificado de cabeza en un área cerca de la actual Basílica de San Pedro en Roma). Pero Jesús todavía dice: “Sígueme”. Seguir a Jesús no va a ser fácil para ninguno de nosotros. Él nos promete que habrá sufrimiento y pruebas. Sin embargo, también promete estar con nosotros hasta el fin del tiempo. Nunca debemos perder la esperanza. Cuando estamos haciendo lo correcto, cuando estamos siguiendo a Jesús, el bien siempre prevalecerá al final.
 
Así que nuestra iglesia fue fundada sobre alguien que una vez negó a Cristo. Tenemos un Dios que está dispuesto a perdonar nuestras faltas, y más, está dispuesto a confiar una gran responsabilidad en nosotros. Él simplemente invita a cada uno de nosotros: “Sígueme.” Pasa tiempo en oración frente a Jesús y escuchando estas palabras directamente a ti, “Sígueme”. ¿Cuál es tu respuesta? ¿Qué se mueve dentro de ti?
 
Permite que Su amor te transforme desde adentro hacia afuera. Permite que el Señor perdone tus pecados y luego que te envíe a la viña para compartir la Buena Nueva.
 
Él te pregunta, “¿Me amas?” Si tu respuesta es positiva, Él responde: “Ven y sígueme.” Él nos puede llevar a lugares que nunca soñamos, pero Su voluntad siempre es mejor que la nuestra.
 
¿Le puedes decir que no a Jesús?
 
Puede que no nos entregue llaves como lo hizo con Pedro. Pero Jesús nos quiere regalar Su Espíritu Santo para llevar a cabo Su santa voluntad. ¡Preparen sus corazones para el derramamiento del Espíritu Santo este domingo de Pentecostés!
 
Dios los bendiga,
Padre Burke

Leave a Reply

Categories

