Posted by: frburke23 | May 17, 2016

Thought for Wednesday, 7th Week of Ordinary Time

JAMES 4:13-17
Beloved:
Come now, you who say,
“Today or tomorrow we shall go into such and such a town,
spend a year there doing business, and make a profit”–
you have no idea what your life will be like tomorrow.
You are a puff of smoke that appears briefly and then disappears.
Instead you should say,
“If the Lord wills it, we shall live to do this or that.”
But now you are boasting in your arrogance.
All such boasting is evil.
So for one who knows the right thing to do
and does not do it, it is a sin.
——————————————
Do you have your life planned out? Do you have it all figured out? That was me many years ago. I had my life planned. I was going to be a professional baseball player, get married, have a large family, make a lot of money and live happily ever after. That was the plan. I asked God to bless my plan. I’m sure we have all done that.
 
And yet…St. James tells us today, “you have no idea what your life will be like tomorrow.” We should be saying, “If the Lord wills it, we shall live to do this or that.” In other words, we should be seeking the will of God in our lives above all else.
 
And this reading reminds me to live in the present moment. Some people live in the past, always thinking of the “good old days”. Some people live in the future, always thinking about the next project, the next goal, the next promotion. Few people live in the present moment, enjoying the gift that God gives us in the person right in front of us.
 
When I read the lives of the saints, one thing they have in common is the ability to live in the present. When I am in the presence of holy people, I feel like I’m the only person alive at that moment. They give me their total attention. Many people have commented how St. John Paul II and Blessed Mother Theresa were able to do give their total attention to the present moment and the person in front of them. I’m sure that anyone that encountered Jesus had this same experience.
 
Pay attention to your thoughts. Are you living in the past? Or are you living in the future? Is the present moment passing you by? I have to make a conscious effort to give my full attention to each person that crosses my path. And I notice that when I am dedicating time to prayer and giving the Lord my full attention, I am better able to give that attention to the people the Lord send my way.
 
Learn from the past. Plan for the future. But live in the present.
 
God bless,
Fr. Burke
 
Here is the Spanish translation:
 
SANTIAGO 4:13-17
Hermanos míos: Consideremos ahora a los que dicen: “Hoy o mañana saldremos para tal ciudad, ahí viviremos unos años, pondremos un negocio y nos haremos ricos”. Ésos no tienen idea de lo que será el mañana. Pues ¿qué cosa es la vida de ustedes? Una nubecilla que se ve un rato y luego se desvanece.
 
Lo que ustedes deberían decir es esto: “Si el Señor nos presta vida, haremos esto y aquello”. En lugar de eso, presumen de ser autosuficientes; y toda esa clase de presunciones es mala.
 
En resumen, el que sabe cómo portarse bien y no lo hace, está en pecado.
=======================
¿Tienes tu vida planeada? ¿Lo tienes todo resuelto? Ese era yo hace muchos años. Yo tenía mi vida planeada. Yo iba a ser un jugador profesional de béisbol, casarme, tener una familia grande, hacer mucho dinero y vivir feliz para siempre. Ese era el plan. Le pedí a Dios que bendiga mi plan. Estoy seguro que todos hemos hecho eso.
 
Y sin embargo… Santiago nos dice hoy, “no tienen idea de lo que será el mañana.” Deberíamos estar diciendo: “Si el Señor nos presta vida, haremos esto y aquello.” En otras palabras, deberíamos estar buscando la voluntad de Dios en nuestras vidas por encima de todo.
 
Y esta lectura me recuerda a que viva en el momento presente. Algunas personas viven en el pasado, siempre pensando en los “buenos viejos tiempos”. Algunas personas viven en el futuro, siempre pensando en el próximo proyecto, la próxima meta, la próxima promoción. Pocas personas viven en el momento presente, disfrutando el regalo que Dios nos da en la persona justo en frente de nosotros.
 
Cuando leí la vida de los santos, una cosa que tienen en común es la capacidad de vivir en el presente. Cuando estoy en la presencia de personas santas, siento como si yo fuera la única persona viva en ese momento. Ellos me dan toda su atención. Muchas personas han comentado cómo San Juan Pablo II y la Beata Madre Teresa podían dar toda su atención al momento presente y a la persona en frente de ellos. Estoy seguro de que cualquier persona que se encontró con Jesús tuvo esta misma experiencia.
 
Presta atención a tus pensamientos. ¿Estás viviendo en el pasado? ¿O estás viviendo en el futuro? ¿El momento presente se te está pasando? Tengo que hacer un esfuerzo consciente de darle toda mi atención a cada persona que se cruza en mi camino. Y noto que cuando estoy dedicando tiempo a la oración y dando al Señor toda mi atención, soy más capaz de dar esa atención a las personas que el Señor envía en mi camino.
 
Aprende del pasado. Planea para el futuro. Pero vive en el presente.
 
Dios te bendiga,
Padre Burke

Leave a Reply

Categories

