Posted by: frburke23 | June 1, 2016

Thought for Thursday, 9th Week in Ordinary Time

MARK 12:28-34
One of the scribes came to Jesus and asked him,
“Which is the first of all the commandments?”
Jesus replied, “The first is this:
Hear, O Israel!
The Lord our God is Lord alone!
You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart,
with all your soul, with all your mind,
and with all your strength.
The second is this:
You shall love your neighbor as yourself.
There is no other commandment greater than these.”
The scribe said to him, “Well said, teacher.
You are right in saying,
He is One and there is no other than he.
And to love him with all your heart,
with all your understanding,
with all your strength,
and to love your neighbor as yourself
is worth more than all burnt offerings and sacrifices.”
And when Jesus saw that he answered with understanding,
he said to him, “You are not far from the Kingdom of God.”
And no one dared to ask him any more questions.
=======================
I want to personally invite you to the Diocese of Joliet Men’s Conference this Saturday, June 4th at Benedictine University in Lisle, IL. We will begin with Mass at 7:30am with Bishop Siegel. Doug Barry, EWTN host and founder of “Battle Ready”, will be the keynote speaker. I will be the MC and give two breakout sessions. And there will be many other wonderful speakers during the breakout sessions.
 
This is a great opportunity for men to gather together, encourage one another, pray together and to grow in our identity as men, husbands and fathers. You can register online at http://www.fishersofmenonline.com. This probably will be the best 8 hours you have invested all year! Your wife, friends and co-workers will benefit from what you have learned and integrated in your life from this conference.
 
With that in mind, we have this wonderful gospel today in which one of the scribes asks Jesus, “Which is the first of all the commandments?” He might be trying to trap Jesus or he might simply want to prioritize the commandments. And Jesus usually does, He does not answer the question directly by picking one of the commandments. He summarizes the ten with two – love God and love your neighbor.
 
Do I love God with my whole heart, soul, mind and strength? Is God my number one priority? Do I invest time in prayer to deepen my relationship with God every day? Do I spend time reading Scripture and spiritual books to nourish my mind and heart? Do I to God in my loneliness or do I fill the space with things of this world?
 
Do I love my neighbor as myself? The first step here is that I have to receive God’s love and believe my identity as His beloved son or daughter. If I dislike myself, I am not able to love anyone else. So loving God and being loved by God comes before this second commandment. Then I can learn to lay down my life for others as Jesus laid down His life for me. Do I will the good of others? Am I willing to lay aside my preferences for the good of others?
 
As I reflect on my life, some of the key times in my life where I learned these commandments outside of my family were retreats and conferences. When I have taken a step back from my busy life and invested quality time in my relationship with God at retreats, the Lord always meets me there and showers His love upon me. And I have seen amazing things in other peoples’ lives when they invested a day, two or three in a retreat.
 
Hope to see you this Saturday. If you cannot make it, please pray for us that the Holy Spirit will guide all of us, inspire us and flood us with His gifts.
 
Peace,
Fr. Burke
To subscribe, go to https://frburke23.wordpress.com and go to the right hand column. Click on “Sign me up!” and start receiving these emails directly to your inbox.
 
Spanish translation:
 
MARCOS 12:28-34
En aquel tiempo, uno de los escribas se acercó a Jesús y le preguntó: “¿Cuál es el primero de todos los mandamientos?” Jesús le respondió: “El primero es: Escucha, Israel: El Señor, nuestro Dios, es el único Señor; amarás al Señor, tu Dios, con todo tu corazón, con toda tu alma, con toda tu mente y con todas tus fuerzas. El segundo es éste: Amarás a tu prójimo como a ti mismo. No hay ningún mandamiento mayor que éstos”.
 
El escriba replicó: “Muy bien, Maestro. Tienes razón, cuando dices que el Señor es único y que no hay otro fuera de él, y amarlo con todo el corazón, con toda el alma, con todas las fuerzas, y amar al prójimo como a uno mismo, vale más que todos los holocaustos y sacrificios”.
 
Jesús, viendo que había hablado muy sensatamente, le dijo: “No estás lejos del Reino de Dios”. Y ya nadie se atrevió a hacerle más preguntas.
====================
Quiero invitarlos personalmente a la Conferencia de Hombres de la Diócesis de Joliet este sábado, 4 de junio en la Universidad Benedictina en Lisle, Illinois. Comenzaremos con una misa a las 7:30 am con el Obispo Siegel. Doug Barry, anfitrión de EWTN y fundador de “Battle Ready”, será el orador principal. Yo voy a ser el MC y daré dos sesiones. Y habrá muchos otros oradores maravillosos durante las sesiones.
 
Esta es una gran oportunidad para que los hombres se reúnan, se animen unos a otros, oren juntos y para crecer en nuestra identidad como hombres, esposos y padres. Puedes registrarte en línea en http://www.fishersofmenonline.com. ¡Probablemente estas serán las mejores 8 horas que has invertido todo el año! Tu esposa, amigos y compañeros de trabajo se beneficiarán de lo que has aprendido e integrado en tu vida de esta conferencia.
Con eso en mente, hoy tenemos este maravilloso Evangelio en el que uno de los escribas le pregunta a Jesús: “¿Cuál es el primero de todos los mandamientos?” Él podría estar tratando de atrapar a Jesús o simplemente podría querer priorizar los mandamientos. Y Jesús por lo general, Él no responde a la pregunta directamente eligiendo uno de los mandamientos. Él resume los diez con dos – amar a Dios y amar al prójimo.
 
¿Amo a Dios con todo mi corazón, alma, mente y fuerza? ¿Es Dios mi prioridad número uno? ¿Invierto tiempo en oración para profundizar mi relación con Dios todos los días? ¿Paso tiempo leyendo la Escritura y libros espirituales para nutrir mi mente y corazón? ¿Tengo a Dios en mi soledad o lleno el espacio con cosas de este mundo?
 
¿Amo a mi prójimo como a mí mismo? El primer paso aquí es que tengo que recibir el amor de Dios y creer mi identidad como Su amado hijo o hija. Si me disgusto a mí mismo, no puedo amar a nadie más. Así que amar a Dios y ser amado por Dios viene antes de este segundo mandamiento. Entonces puedo aprender a dar mi vida por los demás como Jesús dio Su vida por mí. ¿Quiero el bien de los demás? ¿Estoy dispuesto a dejar a un lado mis preferencias por el bien de los demás?
 
Al reflexionar sobre mi vida, algunos de los momentos clave en mi vida donde aprendí estos mandamientos fuera de mi familia eran retiros y conferencias. Cuando he dado un paso atrás de mi vida ocupada e invertido tiempo de calidad en mi relación con Dios en retiros, el Señor siempre me encuentra allí y derrama Su amor sobre mí. Y he visto cosas increíbles en la vida de otras personas cuando invirtieron un día, dos o tres en un retiro.
 
Esperamos verte este sábado. Si no puedes hacerlo, por favor ora por nosotros para que el Espíritu Santo nos guíe a todos, nos inspire y nos inunde con Sus dones.
 
Paz,
Padre Burke
Para suscribirse, vaya a https://frburke23.wordpress.com y vaya a la columna de la derecha. Haga clic en “¡Sign me up!” / “inscribirse” Y comience a recibir estos mensajes de correo directamente en su bandeja de mensajes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

