Posted by: frburke23 | August 19, 2016

Thought for Friday, 20th Week in Ordinary Time

Matthew 22:34-40
 
When the Pharisees heard that Jesus had silenced the Sadducees,
they gathered together, and one of them,
a scholar of the law, tested him by asking,
“Teacher, which commandment in the law is the greatest?”
He said to him,
“You shall love the Lord, your God, with all your heart,
with all your soul, and with all your mind.
This is the greatest and the first commandment.
The second is like it:
You shall love your neighbor as yourself.
The whole law and the prophets depend on these two commandments.”
========================
We were made out of love. We were made to love. And we were made to be loved. Jesus is very clear about the most important commandments – love God and love your neighbor. He did not say, “Thou shalt have the largest house in thy neighborhood and have the most money in the bank.” When we live out the laws of love, we experience what it means to be fully human and fully alive.
 
And what does it mean to love? St. Thomas Aquinas taught, “To love is to will the good of another.” That is so simple to say, yet difficult to carry out in our lives. Do I will the good of others or do I will my own good? Do I seek others’ interests before my own? True love is never selfish. Do I seek God’s will before my own? That is what it means to love God. And that is why Jesus teaches in the Our Father, “thy will be done….”
 
My mother taught me how to love in her life and in her death. She taught me to never make decisions based on things that do not last – money, job titles, etc. In fact, if it weren’t for her sage advice, I might have remained an actuary because the money was very good. But I was not happy. The actuarial profession is wonderful; it was not God’s will for me.
 
My mother taught me to make decisions based on relationships – first with Jesus Christ, then with my neighbor. She would say, “You can’t take that stuff with you. Focus on relationships. Do something that you enjoy.” This advice led me eventually into the priesthood because I believe that God created me to be a priest. Priesthood is all about building relationships with Jesus and others. Being a priest was not my will at first, but now that I’ve followed His will, I have never been more filled with peace and joy.
 
My mother learned an important lesson from Jesus and she passed on this wisdom to me. It has changed my life. I used to chase after the money and material things, thinking those things would make me happy. Now I focus on relationships and see that every person I meet is a treasure chest. What can I learn from this person? How can I best love and serve them? How can I serve the Lord in this person? I have met some of the most amazing people and their friendships fill me with joy.
 
When we die, the Lord is not going to ask us how much money, but He might ask us, “How much did you love? Did you love God above all things? Did you love your neighbor as yourself? Did you help others come to know Me?”
 
Love someone today. Will the good of another person without selfish motives. Give love away. You will receive 100 times more than what you give because we can’t outdo God in love and generosity.
 
Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke
 
Here is the Spanish translation:
 
Mateo 22:34-40
En aquel tiempo, habiéndose enterado los fariseos de que Jesús había dejado callados a los saduceos, se acercaron a él. Uno de ellos, que era doctor de la ley, le preguntó para ponerlo a prueba: “Maestro, ¿cuál es el mandamiento más grande de la ley?”
 
Jesús le respondió: “Amarás al Señor, tu Dios, con todo tu corazón, con toda tu alma y con toda tu mente. Este es el más grande y el primero de los mandamientos. Y el segundo es semejante a éste: Amarás a tu prójimo como a ti mismo. En estos dos mandamientos se fundan toda la ley y los profetas”.
=======================
Fuimos hechos de amor. Fuimos hechos para amar. Y fuimos hechos para ser amados. Jesús es muy claro acerca de los mandamientos más importantes – ama a Dios y ama a tu prójimo. Él no dijo: “Tendrás la casa más grande de tu vecindario y tendrás la mayor cantidad de dinero en el banco”. Cuando vivimos estas leyes de amor, experimentamos lo que significa ser plenamente humano y completamente vivo.
¿Y qué significa amar? Santo Tomás de Aquino enseñó, “Amar es querer el bien de otro.” Eso es tan simple decirlo, sin embargo difícil de llevar a cabo en nuestras vidas. ¿Quiero el bien de los demás o quiero mi propio bien? ¿Busco los
intereses de los demás antes que los míos? El verdadero amor nunca es egoísmo. ¿Busco la voluntad de Dios antes que la mía? Eso es lo que significa amar a Dios. Por eso Jesús nos enseña en el Padre Nuestro, “hágase tu voluntad…”.
Mi madre me enseñó a amar en su vida y en su muerte. Ella me enseñó a nunca tomar decisiones basadas en cosas que no son duraderas- dinero, títulos de trabajo, etc. De hecho, si no fuera por su sabio consejo, yo podría haber seguido siendo un actuario porque el dinero era muy bueno. Pero yo no era feliz. La profesión actuarial es maravillosa; simplemente no era la voluntad de Dios para mí.
Mi madre me enseñó a tomar decisiones basadas en las relaciones – primero con Jesucristo, luego con mi prójimo. Ella decía, “No puedes llevar esas cosas contigo. Enfócate en las relaciones. Haz algo que disfrutes y te guste” Eventualmente, este consejo me llevó al sacerdocio, porque creo que Dios me creó para ser sacerdote. El sacerdocio es todo acerca de construir relaciones con Jesús y con los demás. Ser sacerdote no era mi voluntad al principio, pero ahora que he seguido Su voluntad, nunca he sido más plenamente feliz, lleno de paz y alegría.
Mi madre aprendió una lección importante de Jesús y ella me compartió esta sabiduría a mí. Este consejo ha cambiado mi vida. Yo solía ir tras el dinero y las cosas materiales, pensando que estas cosas me harían feliz. Ahora me enfoco en las relaciones y veo que cada persona que encuentro es un cofre de tesoro. ¿Qué puedo aprender de esta persona? ¿Cómo puedo amarlos y servirles mejor? ¿Cómo puedo servir al Señor en esta persona? He conocido a algunas de las personas más increíbles y su amistad me llena de alegría.
Cuando tengamos que ir a la presencia del Señor, no nos va a preguntar ¿Cuánto dinero hicimos?, pero Él podría preguntarnos, “¿Cuánto amaste? ¿Amaste a Dios sobre todas las cosas? ¿Amaste a tu prójimo como a ti mismo?” ¿Ayudaste a otros a acercarse a mí para conocerme?
Ama a alguien hoy. Desea el bien de otra persona sin motivos egoístas. Da amor. Recibirás 100 veces de lo que tú das, porque no podemos superar a Dios en amor y generosidad.
 
¡Tengan un día bendecido!
Fr. Burke

Responses

  1. St Jan Masters of Joliet, teach us how to LOVE and PRAY FOR US!!!

    God’s Blessings, + Mike Sweeney 2 Tim 4:6-8 http://www.CatholicBaseballCamp.org

    >

  2. Hi Fr. Burke , just read your meditation for Friday, August 20. I am always a little behind! Thank you for such a beautiful meditation. Your mother,I’m sure , Must be filled with joy when she sees who you have become and how you walk with Jesus. May he keep you close to his heart and protect your holy vocation . God bless you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

