Posted by: frburke23 | September 2, 2016

Thought for Friday, 22nd Week in Ordinary Time

1 CORINTHIANS 4:1-5
 
Brothers and sisters:
Thus should one regard us: as servants of Christ
and stewards of the mysteries of God.
Now it is of course required of stewards
that they be found trustworthy.
It does not concern me in the least
that I be judged by you or any human tribunal;
I do not even pass judgment on myself;
I am not conscious of anything against me,
but I do not thereby stand acquitted;
the one who judges me is the Lord.
Therefore, do not make any judgment before the appointed time,
until the Lord comes,
for he will bring to light what is hidden in darkness
and will manifest the motives of our hearts,
and then everyone will receive praise from God.
===========================
Who do we try to please? This is a question that I have asked myself a lot through the years. St. Paul states clearly in this letter to the Corinthians that the only one that we should be trying to please is the Lord.
 
For all of us who are people pleasers, St. Paul says, “It does not concern me in the least that I be judged by you or any human tribunal; … the one who judges me is the Lord.” This doesn’t mean that we don’t care about others. Nor does it mean that we place ourselves above others – St. Paul says that he doesn’t even judge himself; that is up to God.
 
The Lord is the one who “will bring to light what is hidden in darkness and will manifest the motives of our hearts”. What is in our hearts? What motivates us to act? Why do we do what we do?
 
Unfortunately in our culture the level of gossip and judgment is at an all-time high. People thrive off of the demise of others. Somehow we feel better about ourselves when we can put others down. This is not the way of the Lord. Jesus’ way is to humble ourselves before the throne of God and ask for mercy for our own sinfulness – and we are all sinners. We are no better than our neighbor.
 
If we judge others, are we neglecting to look at our own sinfulness? Are we pointing out the splinter in our neighbor’s eye while we have a plank in our own eye? Jesus tells us, “Do not judge and you will not be judged. Do not condemn and you will not be condemned” (Luke 6:37).
 
I have seen people hurt so badly by gossip and rumors. Our tongues are worse weapons that guns. The fifth commandment says, “Thou shall not kill.” We overlook this commandment by thinking, “I haven’t killed anyone”. But have you killed their reputation or their spirit by your words?
 
Please think twice before you say anything about anyone else. Ask yourself the following questions before speaking:
 
1) Is my speech building up or tearing down the other person?
 
2) Why am I saying this? What is my motivation? If Jesus knows what is hidden in my heart, would I be ashamed?
 
3) If someone else said the same thing about me, how would I feel?
 
4) If the person were standing right in front of me, would I be saying this?
 
The old saying my mother and grandmother taught me is “If you don’t have anything good to say about someone, don’t say anything at all.” Let’s make our speech positive. Pay someone a compliment today. I believe that if we get our identity from the Lord, as St. Paul did, we don’t worry about what others think of us. And we are more likely to pay compliments to others. However, if our self-esteem is low, we think that paying a compliment somehow puts me down lower.
 
Jesus loves you and He loves your neighbor. Try to see Jesus in every person. Act as if the person you are speaking about were standing right next to you. Please build up – do not tear down. Tearing down is the work of the evil one. Building up and uniting is the work of Jesus.
 
God bless,
Fr. Burke
To subscribe, go to https://frburke23.wordpress.com and go to the right hand column. Click on “Sign me up!” and start receiving these emails directly to your inbox.
 
Spanish translation:
 
1 CORINTIOS 4:1-5
Hermanos: Procuren que todos nos consideren como servidores de Cristo y administradores de los misterios de Dios.
 
Ahora bien, lo que se busca en un administrador es que sea fiel. Por eso, lo que menos me preocupa es que me juzguen ustedes o un tribunal humano; pues ni siquiera yo me juzgo a mí mismo. Es cierto que mi conciencia no me reprocha nada, pero no por eso he sido declarado inocente. El Señor es quien habrá de juzgarme. Por lo tanto, no juzguen antes de tiempo; esperen a que venga el Señor. Entonces él sacará a la luz lo que está oculto en las tinieblas, pondrá al descubierto las intenciones del corazón y dará a cada uno la alabanza que merezca.
==========================
¿A quién tratamos de complacer? Esta es una pregunta que me he hecho mucho a través de los años. San Pablo dice claramente en esta carta a los corintios que al único al que deberíamos estar tratando de complacer es al Señor.
 
Para todos los que somos complacientes de personas, San Pablo dice: “Lo que menos me preocupa es que me juzguen ustedes o un tribunal humano; … El Señor es quien habrá de juzgarme.” Esto no significa que no nos preocupan los demás. Tampoco significa que nos pongamos por encima de los demás – San Pablo dice que él ni siquiera se juaga a sí mismo; eso depende de Dios.
 
El Señor es el que “sacará a la luz lo que está oculto en las tinieblas, pondrá al descubierto las intenciones del corazón”. ¿Qué está en nuestros corazones? ¿Qué nos motiva a actuar? ¿Por qué hacemos lo que hacemos?
 
Desafortunadamente en nuestra cultura el nivel de chisme y juicio está en su nivel más alto. La gente saca provecho de la caída de otros. De alguna manera nos sentimos mejor con nosotros mismos cuando podemos despreciar a otros. Este no es el camino del Señor. El camino de Jesús es humillarnos ante el trono de Dios y pedir misericordia por nuestro propio pecado – y todos somos pecadores. No somos mejores que nuestro prójimo.
 
Si juzgamos a los demás, ¿estamos descuidando de ver nuestro propio pecado? ¿Estamos señalando la astilla en el ojo de nuestro prójimo mientras que tenemos una viga en nuestro propio ojo? Jesús nos dice: “No juzguen y no serán juzgados. No condenen y no serán condenados” (Lucas 6:37).
 
He visto a personas muy heridas por chismes y rumores. Nuestras lenguas son peores armas que las pistolas. El quinto mandamiento dice: “No matarás.” Pasamos por alto este mandamiento pensando, “No he matado a nadie”. Pero, ¿has matado su reputación o su espíritu con tus palabras?
 
Por favor, piensa dos veces antes de decir algo de alguien. Hazte las siguientes preguntas antes de hablar:
 
1) Mis palabras están construyendo o derribando a la otra persona?
 
2) ¿Por qué estoy diciendo esto? ¿Cuál es mi motivación? Si Jesús conoce lo que está oculto en mi corazón, ¿Estaría avergonzado?
 
3) Si alguien más dijera lo mismo de mí, ¿cómo me sentiría?
 
4) Si la persona estuviera justo en frente de mí, ¿estaría diciendo esto?
 
El viejo dicho que mi madre y mi abuela me enseñaron es “Si no tienes nada bueno que decir de alguien, no digas nada en absoluto.” Hagamos nuestro discurso positivo. Hazle un cumplido a alguien hoy. Creo que si obtenemos nuestra identidad del Señor, como lo hizo San Pablo, no nos preocupamos por lo que los demás piensen de nosotros. Y somos más propensos a hacerle cumplidos a los demás. Sin embargo, si nuestra autoestima es baja, pensamos que hacer un cumplido de alguna manera me pone más abajo.
 
Jesús te ama y ama a tu prójimo. Trata de ver a Jesús en cada persona. Actúa como si la persona de la que estás hablando está justo al lado de ti. Por favor construye – no derribes. Derribar es la obra del maligno. Construir y unir es la obra de Jesús.
 
Dios te bendiga,
Padre Burke
Para suscribirse, vaya a https://frburke23.wordpress.com y vaya a la columna de la derecha. Haga clic en “¡Sign me up!” / “inscribirse” Y comience a recibir estos mensajes de correo directamente en su bandeja de mensajes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

