Posted by: frburke23 | October 25, 2016

Thought for Tuesday, 30th Week in Ordinary Time

EPHESIANS 5:21-33
 
Brothers and sisters:
Be subordinate to one another out of reverence for Christ.
Wives should be subordinate to their husbands as to the Lord.
For the husband is head of his wife
just as Christ is head of the Church,
he himself the savior of the Body.
As the Church is subordinate to Christ,
so wives should be subordinate to their husbands in everything.
Husbands, love your wives,
even as Christ loved the Church
and handed himself over for her to sanctify her,
cleansing her by the bath of water with the word,
that he might present to himself the Church in splendor,
without spot or wrinkle or any such thing,
that she might be holy and without blemish.
So also husbands should love their wives as their own bodies.
He who loves his wife loves himself.
For no one hates his own flesh
but rather nourishes and cherishes it,
even as Christ does the Church,
because we are members of his Body.
 
For this reason a man shall leave his father and his mother
and be joined to his wife,
and the two shall become one flesh.
 
This is a great mystery,
but I speak in reference to Christ and the Church.
In any case, each one of you should love his wife as himself,
and the wife should respect her husband.
============================
This is a reading that is often avoided. “Wives should be subordinate to their husbands….” We often stop there and we dismiss the Scriptures as ‘outdated’ or ‘old fashioned’. But if we continue to read, we see the beauty of this Scripture passage.
 
St. Paul continues, “Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ loved the Church….” How did Christ love the Church? He died for the Church –His Bride. He died for you and me. Husbands are called to lay down their lives for bride.
 
So the beauty of this reading lies in the fact that St. Paul calls husbands and wives to lay down their lives for one another. Love “does not seek its own interests” is one of my favorite lines from 1 Corinthians 13:5. Love is not selfish. Love is not about me. If spouses seek their own interests, the marriage is not going to flourish. However, if both parties will the best for the other (St. Thomas Aquinas’ definition of love), paradoxically the needs of each are met. What you give away comes back to you, especially with love.
 
As a celibate man, this has great meaning for me as well. Who is my spouse? The Church. How am I called to lay down my life for my spouse? This life is not about my own self-interests, my time, my desires, etc. I am not a bachelor. I am espoused. I lay down my life for the Church, my spouse, by giving generously of my time and talents. I sacrifice my own desires so that the needs of my spouse are met. Paradoxically, the more generous I am with my spouse, the more fulfilled I feel as a priest. What you give away returns to you 100-fold.
 
I learned a lot from my father as a boy and young man. I saw my dad work long hours and sacrifice his own desires so that our family could have a better life. He taught me what hard work, integrity and sacrificed looked like by his example.
 
Ultimately, the goal for all of us is heaven. The goals of marriage include helping your spouse get to heaven, and if God blesses you with children, to help them get to heaven as well. The same is true for priests. My first thought in the morning and throughout the day should be, “How do I help my spouse and my children get to heaven?”
 
Do I seek the best for my spouse?
Or do I seek my own self-interests?
Am I generous with my gifts and talents?
Or am I selfish and self-centered?
Am I helping my spouse and children get to heaven?
 
New life happens when we give ourselves away, just as Jesus did on the cross for you and me. Try to outdo God in generosity. It is impossible, but I dare you to try.
 
God bless,
Fr. Burke
 
Spanish translation:
 
EFESIOS 5:21-33
Hermanos: Respétense unos a otros, por reverencia a Cristo: que las mujeres respeten a sus maridos, como si se tratara del Señor, porque el marido es cabeza de la mujer, como Cristo es cabeza y salvador de la Iglesia, que es su cuerpo. Por lo tanto, así como la Iglesia es dócil a Cristo, así también las mujeres sean dóciles a sus maridos en todo.
 
Maridos, amen a sus esposas como Cristo amó a su Iglesia y se entregó por ella para santificarla, purificándola con el agua y la palabra, pues él quería presentársela a sí mismo toda resplandeciente, sin mancha ni arruga ni cosa semejante, sino santa e inmaculada.
 
Así los maridos deben amar a sus esposas, como cuerpos suyos que son. El que ama a su esposa se ama a sí mismo, pues nadie jamás ha odiado a su propio cuerpo, sino que le da alimento y calor, como Cristo hace con la Iglesia, porque somos miembros de su cuerpo.
 
Por eso abandonará el hombre a su padre y a su madre, se unirá a su mujer y serán los dos una sola cosa. Este es un gran misterio, y yo lo refiero a Cristo y a la Iglesia.
 
En una palabra, que cada uno de ustedes ame a su mujer como a sí mismo, y que la mujer respete a su marido.
====================
Esta es una lectura que a menudo se evita. “Mujeres respeten a sus maridos….” A menudo nos detenemos allí y descartamos las Escrituras como “anticuadas” o “pasadas de moda”. Pero si seguimos leyendo, vemos la belleza de este pasaje de la Escritura.
 
San Pablo continúa, “Maridos, amen a sus esposas como Cristo amó a su Iglesia….” ¿Cómo amó Cristo a la Iglesia? Él murió por la Iglesia – Su Novia. Él murió por ti y por mí. Los maridos están llamados a dar sus vidas por la novia.
 
Asi que la belleza de esta lectura radica en el hecho de que San Pablo llama a los maridos y esposas a dar sus vidas uno por el otro. El amor”no busca su propio interés” es una de mis líneas favoritas de 1 Corintios 13: 5. El amor no es egoísta. El amor no se trata de mí. Si los cónyuges buscan sus propios intereses, el matrimonio no va a florecer. Sin embargo, si ambas partes quieren lo mejor para el otro (definición de amor de Santo Tomás de Aquino), paradójicamente, se cumplen las necesidades de cada uno. Lo que das vuelve a ti, sobre todo con amor.
 
Como hombre célibe, esto tiene un gran significado para mí también. ¿Quién es mi esposa? La Iglesia. ¿Cómo estoy llamado a dar mi vida por mi esposa? Esta vida no se trata de mis propios intereses, mi tiempo, mis deseos, etc. No soy soltero. Estoy casado. Yo doy mi vida por la Iglesia, mi esposa, dando generosamente de mi tiempo y talentos. Sacrifico mis propios deseos para que se cumplan las necesidades de mi esposa. Paradójicamente, cuanto más generoso soy con mi esposa, cuanto más realizado me siento como sacerdote. Lo que das vuelve a ti 100 veces.
 
Aprendí mucho de mi padre de niño y de joven. Vi a mi padre trabajar largas horas y sacrificar sus propios deseos para que nuestra familia pudiera tener una mejor vida. Él me enseñó como es el trabajo duro, la integridad y el sacrificó con su ejemplo.
 
Por último, la meta para todos nosotros es el cielo. Las metas del matrimonio incluyen ayudar a tu cónyuge a llegar al cielo, y si Dios te bendice con niños, ayudarles a llegar al cielo también. Lo mismo es cierto para los sacerdotes. Mi primer pensamiento en la mañana y a lo largo del día debe ser: “¿Cómo puedo ayudar a mi esposo/a y a mis hijos llegar al cielo?”
 
¿Busco lo mejor para mi cónyuge?
¿O busco mis propios intereses?
¿Soy generoso con mis dones y talentos?
¿O soy egoísta y egocéntrico?
¿Estoy ayudando a mi cónyuge e hijos a llegar al cielo?
 
Nueva vida ocurre cuando nos entregamos, así como Jesús lo hizo en la cruz por ti y por mí. Trata de superar a Dios en generosidad. Es imposible, pero te reto a que lo intentes.
 
Dios te bendiga,
Padre Burke

Leave a Reply

Categories

