Posted by: frburke23 | November 4, 2016

Thought for Saturday, 31st Week in Ordinary Time

PHILIPPIANS 4:10-19
Brothers and sisters:
I rejoice greatly in the Lord
that now at last you revived your concern for me.
You were, of course, concerned about me but lacked an opportunity.
Not that I say this because of need,
for I have learned, in whatever situation I find myself,
to be self-sufficient.
I know indeed how to live in humble circumstances;
I know also how to live with abundance.
In every circumstance and in all things
I have learned the secret of being well fed and of going hungry,
of living in abundance and of being in need.
I have the strength for everything through him who empowers me.
Still, it was kind of you to share in my distress.
 
You Philippians indeed know that at the beginning of the Gospel,
when I left Macedonia,
not a single church shared with me
in an account of giving and receiving, except you alone.
For even when I was at Thessalonica
you sent me something for my needs,
not only once but more than once.
It is not that I am eager for the gift;
rather, I am eager for the profit that accrues to your account.
I have received full payment and I abound.
I am very well supplied because of what I received from you
through Epaphroditus,
“a fragrant aroma,” an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God.
My God will fully supply whatever you need,
in accord with his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.
==================
St. Paul is grateful to the Philippians for remembering him and providing for his care. He says that he has learned to live with nothing and with abundance, but ultimately he places his entire trust in Jesus. “I have the strength for everything through Him who empowers me.”
 
St. Paul mastered the ability to live in the moment. He learned that whether he was living in abundance or in poverty the Lord was with him. The Lord gave him the strength to do everything. The outside circumstances did not determine his happiness or fulfillment. His peace and joy always came from the Lord.
 
How often do we allow the external circumstances of our lives determine our identity or our happiness? Yes it hurts when we lose our job or we get sick or we lose a loved one. However, if we keep our eyes on the Lord, maintain an eternal perspective and remember that the Lord is with us, He gives us the peace and joy that we so desire.
 
Many people had forgotten about St. Paul, but the Philippians had not. And he says that they will be rewarded for their generosity and love. St. Paul also wants us to focus on helping others who are in need. He did not need the gifts of the Philippians, but he knew that the givers benefited by their generosity.
 
Have I learned to focus on the Lord, whether I live with nothing or with abundance?
Do I find my peace and joy in Jesus alone?
Am I a generous giver without counting the costs?
Do I trust that my ultimate reward is in heaven, not on earth?
 
St. Paul, pray for us. Help us to trust in Jesus as our sole provider. Help us also to remember all those men and women who have touched our lives by sharing the love of Jesus. Help us to return the favor by reaching out to those in need today.
Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke
 
Here is the Spanish translation:
 
FILIPENSES 4:10-19
 
Hermanos: Me he alegrado mucho en el Señor de que el interés de ustedes por mí se haya vuelto a manifestar. No es que no lo tuvieran, sino que les había faltado la ocasión de ayudarme. Y no se lo digo porque esté necesitado, pues he aprendido a conformarme con lo que tengo.
 
Sé lo que es vivir en pobreza y también lo que es tener de sobra. Estoy acostumbrado a todo: lo mismo a comer bien que a pasar hambre; lo mismo a la abundancia que a la escasez. Todo lo puedo unido a aquel que me da fuerza. Sin embargo, han hecho ustedes bien en socorrerme cuando me vi en dificultades.
 
Ustedes saben, filipenses, que, al comenzar a predicar el Evangelio, cuando salí de Macedonia, ninguna comunidad cristiana, fuera de ustedes, me brindó una ayuda económica a cambio de lo que habían recibido de mí. Pues, incluso cuando estaba en Tesalónica, en más de una ocasión me enviaron ayuda para aliviar mis necesidades.
 
No es que yo busque sus donativos; lo que me importa es que ustedes se hagan cada vez más ricos ante Dios. Tengo cuanto necesito y más de lo que necesito. Tengo de sobra con lo que Epafrodito me entregó de parte de ustedes, y que es para Dios ofrenda y sacrificio que él acepta con agrado. Y mi Dios, con su infinita riqueza, remediará con esplendidez todas sus necesidades, por medio de Cristo Jesús.
=====================
San Pablo agradece a los Filipenses por recordarlo y proveer para su cuidado. Él dice que él ha aprendido a vivir sin nada y con abundancia, pero al final, él pone toda su confianza en Jesús. “Todo lo puedo unido a aquel que me da fuerza.”
 
San Pablo dominó la habilidad de vivir en el momento. Aprendió que si él vivía en abundancia o en pobreza el Señor estaba con él. El Señor le dio la fuerza para hacer todo. Las circunstancias externas no determinaron su felicidad o satisfacción. Su paz y alegría siempre vinieron del Señor.
 
¿Con qué frecuencia permitimos que las circunstancias externas de nuestras vidas determinen nuestra identidad o nuestra felicidad? Sí, duele cuando perdemos nuestro trabajo o nos enfermamos o perdemos a un ser querido. Sin embargo, si mantenemos los ojos en el Señor, mantenemos una perspectiva eterna y recordamos que el Señor está con nosotros, Él nos da la paz y la alegría que tanto deseamos.
 
Mucha gente se había olvidado de San Pablo, pero no los Filipenses. Y él dice que ellos serán recompensados por su generosidad y amor. San Pablo también quiere que nos enfoquemos en ayudar a los que están en necesidad. Él no necesitaba los donativos de los Filipenses, pero sabía que los dadores beneficiaban por su generosidad.
 
¿He aprendido a concentrarse en el Señor, si vivo con nada o con abundancia?
¿Encuentro mi paz y alegría solo en Jesús?
¿Soy un dador generoso, sin contar los costos?
¿Confío en que mi recompensa final está en el cielo, no en la tierra?
 
San Pablo, ruega por nosotros. Ayúdanos a confiar en Jesús como nuestro único proveedor. También ayúdanos a recordar a todos aquellos hombres y mujeres que han tocado nuestras vidas al compartir el amor de Jesús. Ayúdanos a devolver el favor ayudando a los necesitados hoy.
 
¡Que tengas un día bendecido!
Padre Burke

Responses

  1. Great reflection, I have a lot of work to do in this area.

    God Bless! Mark

    >


Leave a Reply

Categories

