Posted by: frburke23 | December 6, 2016

Thought for Wednesday, 2nd Week of Advent

Thought for Wednesday, 2nd Week of Advent
 
ISAIAH 40:25-31
To whom can you liken me as an equal?
says the Holy One.
Lift up your eyes on high
and see who has created these things:
He leads out their army and numbers them,
calling them all by name.
By his great might and the strength of his power
not one of them is missing!
Why, O Jacob, do you say,
and declare, O Israel,
“My way is hidden from the LORD,
and my right is disregarded by my God”?
 
Do you not know
or have you not heard?
The LORD is the eternal God,
creator of the ends of the earth.
He does not faint nor grow weary,
and his knowledge is beyond scrutiny.
He gives strength to the fainting;
for the weak he makes vigor abound.
Though young men faint and grow weary,
and youths stagger and fall,
They that hope in the LORD will renew their strength,
they will soar as with eagles’ wings;
They will run and not grow weary,
walk and not grow faint.
—————————————————————————
Take time to read today’s reading from Isaiah. It gives me such peace to contemplate these words. In the first paragraph, the Lord is telling us to look to Him for all things. He is the creator of everything and everyone, yet He calls each of us by name. He knows all of us intimately and does not disregard any of our ways. We are precious in the eyes of God.
 
Then in the second paragraph we read, “He gives strength to the fainting; for the weak he makes vigor abound.” There are many times in our lives when we feel that we cannot go on. We are at the end of our rope and have no strength to continue. The Lord calls us to keep our eyes focused on Him for our strength and endurance. “They that hope in the LORD will renew their strength, they will soar as with eagles’ wings; They will run and not grow weary, walk and not grow faint.”
 
This has been my experience. When I try to run the race alone and do everything on my own strength I get tired easily and feel that I cannot continue. My battery runs out quickly. Everything seems to be difficult and heavy. However, when I am devoted to prayer and constantly connecting with the Lord, He gives me strength and energy that I did not know I had. Actually, it is not my strength but it is the Lord working through me. When we are in union with the Lord throughout the day in prayer, it is like constantly receiving electricity from an outlet.
 
The Gospel reading for the day is Matthew 11:28-30: “Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves. For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.” These are great words of comfort for us to contemplate today. Do not try to do things alone. Ask for God’s help and strength at every moment of every day. He wants to support you, strengthen you and give you peace.
 
Do I pray throughout the day and allow the Lord to charge my batteries?
Do I turn to the Lord with my struggles or do I try to carry them myself?
 
“Come to me,” the Lord says, “and I will give you rest.” Do not try to carry your burden alone. God’s grace is always available to us. We just need to turn to Him in faith and let Him help us.
 
God bless,
Fr. Burke
 
Here is the Spanish translation:
 
ISAÍAS 40:25-31
“¿Con quién me van a comparar,
que pueda igualarse a mí?”,
dice el Dios de Israel.
Alcen los ojos a lo alto
y díganme quién ha creado todos aquellos astros.
Él es quien cuenta y despliega su ejército de estrellas
y a cada una la llama por su nombre;
tanta es su omnipotencia y tan grande su vigor,
que ninguna de ellas desoye su llamado.
 
¿Por qué dices tú, Jacob,
y lo repites tú, Israel:
“Mi suerte se le oculta al Señor
y mi causa no le preocupa a mi Dios”?
¿Es que no lo has oído?
Desde siempre el Señor es Dios,
creador aun de los últimos rincones de la tierra.
Él no se cansa ni se fatiga
y su inteligencia es insondable.
 
Él da vigor al fatigado
y al que no tiene fuerzas, energía.
Hasta los jóvenes se cansan y se rinden,
los más valientes tropiezan y caen;
pero aquellos que ponen su esperanza en el Señor,
renuevan sus fuerzas;
les nacen alas como de águila,
corren y no se cansan, caminan
y no se fatigan.
==================
Toma tiempo para leer la lectura de hoy de Isaías. Me da tanta paz contemplar estas palabras. En el primer párrafo, el Señor nos está diciendo que lo veamos a Él para todas las cosas. Él es el creador de todo y de todos, sin embargo, Él nos llama a cada uno por nombre. Él nos conoce a todos íntimamente y no ignora ninguno de nuestros caminos. Somos preciosos a los ojos de Dios.
 
Luego, en el segundo párrafo leemos, “Él da vigor al fatigado; y al que no tiene fuerzas, energía.” Hay muchas veces en nuestras vidas cuando sentimos que no podemos seguir. Estamos al final de nuestra cuerda y no tenemos fuerzas para continuar. El Señor nos llama a mantener los ojos fijos en Él para nuestra fuerza y resistencia. “Aquellos que ponen su esperanza en el Señor, renuevan sus fuerzas; les nacen alas como de águila, corren y no se cansan, caminan y no se fatigan.”
 
Esta ha sido mi experiencia. Cuando trato de correr la carrera solo y hago todo por mi propia fuerza me canso con facilidad y siento que no puedo continuar. Mi batería se agota rápidamente. Todo parece ser difícil y pesado. Sin embargo, cuando estoy dedicado a la oración y constantemente conectado con el Señor, Él me da fuerza y energía que no sabía que tenía. En realidad, no es mi fuerza, sino es el Señor obrando a través de mí. Es como recibir constantemente electricidad de una toma de corriente cuando estamos en unión con el Señor en oración durante todo el día.
 
La lectura del Evangelio del día es Mateo 11: 28-30: “Vengan a mí todos los que están cansados y agobiados, y yo les daré descanso. Carguen mi yugo y aprendan de mí, porque soy manso y humilde de corazón; y encontraran descanso. Porque mi yugo es suave y mi carga ligera.” Estas son grandes palabras de consuelo para nosotros para que contemplemos hoy. No trates de hacer las cosas solo. Pide la ayuda y la fuerza de Dios en cada momento de cada día. Él quiere apoyarte, fortalecerte y darte paz.
 
¿Rezo a lo largo del día y permito que el Señor cargue mis baterías?
¿Acudo al Señor con mis luchas o trato de cargarlas yo mismo?
 
“Vengan a mí”, dice el Señor, “y yo les daré descanso.” No traten de llevar su carga solos. La gracia de Dios siempre está disponible para nosotros. Sólo necesitamos dirigirnos a Él en fe y dejar que Él nos ayude.
 
Dios te bendiga,
Padre Burke
Leave a Reply

Categories

