Posted by: frburke23 | December 20, 2016

Thought for December 21, 2016

Thought for December 21, 2016
 
LUKE 1:39-45
Mary set out in those days
and traveled to the hill country in haste
to a town of Judah,
where she entered the house of Zechariah
and greeted Elizabeth.
When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting,
the infant leaped in her womb,
and Elizabeth, filled with the Holy Spirit,
cried out in a loud voice and said,
“Most blessed are you among women,
and blessed is the fruit of your womb.
And how does this happen to me,
that the mother of my Lord should come to me?
For at the moment the sound of your greeting reached my ears,
the infant in my womb leaped for joy.
Blessed are you who believed
that what was spoken to you by the Lord
would be fulfilled.”
==================
This time of Advent and Christmas are wonderful reminders for us of how much God loves us. We celebrate the Nativity of Jesus every year as one of the most solemn events of the year (along with Easter). Advent is a time of preparation for this event, even though it happened over 2000 years ago. We do this to continually remind ourselves of the magnitude of this gift of God. The Incarnation changed the universe forever. God has taken on human flesh to save us and transform us radically.
 
Do you realize how much God loves you? We see that God is willing to go to extremes to save us from our sins. There is no way that I can remain neutral to this type of love. Either I follow Jesus radically with my whole being or I turn and walk away.
 
Today we read about Mary running to visit her cousin Elizabeth. They both have conceived miraculously. Mary does not focus on her herself during this miraculous time, but she goes to share her Gift with Elizabeth. Her cousin immediately recognizes the presence of Jesus in the womb of Mary. “And how does this happen to me, that the mother of my Lord should come to me?” Even John leaped in his mother’s womb as he sensed the presence of the Christ in the womb of Mary. These two cousins were united from the very beginning.
 
Seeing these little glimpses of how God has worked over time is wondrous. Just as King David danced around the ark of the covenant, which represented the presence of God among them, so John dances in the presence of the new ark, Mary, and the Real Presence of Jesus in the womb of Mary. How palpable His presence must have been for Elizabeth and John to recognize Him immediately! And how sensitive they were to His presence. Elizabeth then blessed Mary for her faith, “Blessed are you who believed that what was spoken to you by the Lord would be fulfilled.”
 
Am I sensitive to the presence of Jesus around me, in the tabernacle, in others?
Or have my sins and my pride dulled my senses?
Do I rejoice in the Lord’s presence?
Do I praise God for all that He has done in my life?
 
Lord, thank you for this season of Advent. Prepare my heart in a new way to receive you. I want to see you in every circumstance of life. Open my eyes – free me from my blindness. I want to hear your voice when you speak . Open my ears – help me be sensitive to your gentle whisper. May I turn away from my sin and anything that gets in the way of knowing, loving and serving you. May my heart rejoice in a few days as we celebrate your birth among us.
 
Have a blessed day,
Fr. Burke
 
Spanish translation:
 
LUCAS 1:39-45
En aquellos días, María se encaminó presurosa a un pueblo de las montañas de Judea y, entrando en la casa de Zacarías, saludó a Isabel. En cuanto ésta oyó el saludo de María, la creatura saltó en su seno.
 
Entonces Isabel quedó llena del Espíritu Santo y, levantando la voz, exclamó: “¡Bendita tú entre las mujeres y bendito el fruto de tu vientre! ¿Quién soy yo, para que la madre de mi Señor venga a verme? Apenas llegó tu saludo a mis oídos, el niño saltó de gozo en mi seno. Dichosa tú, que has creído, porque se cumplirá cuanto te fue anunciado de parte del Señor”.
=======================
Este tiempo de Adviento y Navidad son maravillosos recordatorios para nosotros de cuánto Dios nos ama. Celebramos la Natividad de Jesús cada año como uno de los eventos más solemnes del año (junto con la Pascua). El Adviento es un tiempo de preparación para este evento, aunque ha ocurrido hace más de 2000 años. Hacemos esto para recordarnos continuamente de la magnitud de este regalo de Dios. La Encarnación cambió el universo para siempre. Dios se ha tomado en carne humana para salvarnos y transformarnos radicalmente.
 
¿Te das cuenta de lo mucho que Dios te ama? Vemos que Dios está dispuesto a ir a los extremos para salvarnos de nuestros pecados. No hay manera que yo pueda permanecer neutral a este tipo de amor. O sigo a Jesús radicalmente con todo mi ser o me doy la vuelta y me alejo.
 
Hoy leemos sobre María corriendo a visitar a su prima Isabel. Ambas han concebido milagrosamente. María no se enfoca en ella misma durante este tiempo milagroso, sino ella va a compartir su Regalo con Isabel. Su prima reconoce inmediatamente la presencia de Jesús en el vientre de María. “¿Quién soy yo, para que la madre de mi Señor venga a verme?”. Incluso Juan saltó en el vientre de su madre al sentir la presencia del Cristo en el vientre de María. Estos dos primos estaban unidos desde el principio.
 
Ver estos pequeños vislumbres de cómo Dios ha trabajado a través del tiempo es maravilloso. Así como el Rey David bailó alrededor del arca del pacto, que representaba la presencia de Dios entre ellos, así Juan baila en presencia de la nueva arca, María, y la Presencia Real de Jesús en el vientre de María. ¡Cuán palpable debió haber sido Su presencia para que Isabel y Juan lo reconocieran inmediatamente! Y cuán sensibles eran a Su presencia. Isabel entonces bendijo a María por su fe, “Dichosa tú, que has creído, porque se cumplirá cuanto te fue anunciado de parte del Señor”.
 
¿Soy sensible a la presencia de Jesús a mi alrededor, en el tabernáculo, en los demás?
¿O mis pecados y mi orgullo han entorpecido mis sentidos?
¿Me regocijo en la presencia del Señor?
¿Alabo a Dios por todo lo que ha hecho en mi vida?
 
Señor, gracias por esta temporada de Adviento. Prepara mi corazón de una manera nueva para recibirte. Quiero verte en cada circunstancia de la vida. Abre mis ojos – líbrame de mi ceguera. Quiero escuchar tu voz cuando hables. Abre mis oídos – ayúdame a ser sensible a tu suave susurro. Que pueda alejarme de mi pecado y de cualquier cosa que se interpone en el camino de conocerte, amarte y servirte. Que mi corazón se alegre en unos días mientras celebramos tu nacimiento entre nosotros.
 
Que tengas un día bendecido,
Padre Burke
Leave a Reply

Categories

