Posted by: frburke23 | December 30, 2016

Thought for December 31, 2016

Thought for December 31, 2016
 
1 JOHN 2:18-21
Children, it is the last hour;
and just as you heard that the antichrist was coming,
so now many antichrists have appeared.
Thus we know this is the last hour.
They went out from us, but they were not really of our number;
if they had been, they would have remained with us.
Their desertion shows that none of them was of our number.
But you have the anointing that comes from the Holy One,
and you all have knowledge.
I write to you not because you do not know the truth
but because you do, and because every lie is alien to the truth.
============================================
As we enter into this last day of 2016, we take time to reflect on the blessings of the year. Take time to look back at the moments when you experienced the presence of God. Thank God for the gift of another year of life. Were there some heavy crosses that you had to carry? Did you experience some big losses during the year? The Lord Jesus was close by your side through every moment of the year – good or bad.
 
We also should take time and reflect on the times that we did not live up to our call to holiness. We ask Him for mercy for our sinfulness. Have I turned my back on God at any time this year? Have my choices always helped me and others to grow in our relationship with Jesus? Are there certain sins that I would like to eliminate from my life with the help of God in 2017?
 
We also ask God for the grace to be the best person we can be in 2017 – holy, healthy, loving and joyful. Try to make some New Year’s resolutions that will help you grow in your relationship with Jesus this year. Can I pray more? Can I attend church more often? Can I study the Bible or other books to help me grow in my knowledge of the faith? Can I share the gifts God has given me with others in a particular way?
 
The Church gives us this reading from the first letter of St. John on New Year’s Eve. “Children, it is the last hour.” Many antichrists had appeared and were leading people away from the faith. This was a sign of the “last hour”. Today there are many antichrists present – those who try to lead us astray, away from God, away from the truth. But we have been given the Holy Spirit to guide us in the way of truth, goodness and right. We have the Church that is guided by the Holy Spirit to lead us closer to Jesus. Call on the Holy Spirit to guide you, especially when you are tempted to go away from the noble calling you have as a disciple of Jesus Christ. Remember that every sin leads to misery and practicing virtue leads to peace and joy. Stay within the Church, the ship that carries us and protects us on this perilous journey.
 
“The devil is prowling like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” (1 Peter 5:8) There are many “antichrists” in the world trying to draw us away from Jesus. There are many voices clamoring for our attention. One of the best things we can do in the New Year is to spend time in silence, away from the noise, listening to the voice of the Good Shepherd. When we spend time with Him, we recognize His voice among the many voices vying for our attention. Can I recommend that we fast from our cell phones one day a week? This alone can help us deepen our interior life.
 
What have been the graces I have experienced this year?
Have I felt Jesus’s presence as I have had to carry the cross this year?
What is my plan to grow closer to Jesus in 2017?
 
Have a blessed day!
Fr. Burke
Responses

  1. Happy New Year!

    I think about you often. We miss seeing you!

    Wishing you a year filled with positive outcomes!

    I know God will be with you and your family every step of the way.

    Please take care, Frank and Lee Sitar

    Sent from my iPad

    >


Leave a Reply

Categories

