Posted by: frburke23 | January 5, 2017

Thought for January 6, 2017

Thought for January 6, 2017
 
MARK 1:7-11
This is what John the Baptist proclaimed:
“One mightier than I is coming after me.
I am not worthy to stoop and loosen the thongs of his sandals.
I have baptized you with water;
he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit.”
 
It happened in those days that Jesus came from Nazareth of Galilee
and was baptized in the Jordan by John.
On coming up out of the water he saw the heavens being torn open
and the Spirit, like a dove, descending upon him.
And a voice came from the heavens,
“You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased.”
===================
My father’s surgery is scheduled for 1pm on Friday, January 6, 2017. Thanks for your prayers and I will give an update when I have more information.
 
John’s whole life was meant to point us to Jesus. Everything he said and did was to point us to the Lamb of God. Many people wanted to follow John because of his powerful words. But John said, “I must decrease so that He may increase.” “I am not worthy to stoop and loosen the thongs of His sandals.” Humility was the key to John’s spirituality.
 
Does my life point to Jesus?
Do I seek the attention for myself?
Or does everything I say and do lead people to the Lamb of God and away from me?
 
Then I love the story of Jesus’ baptism! This was one of the “epiphanies” or manifestations of Jesus’ divinity. The heavens opened and a voice spoke saying, “You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased.” I imagine this voice every time I baptize a child. I can almost hear the voice of the Father saying, “You are my beloved son/daughter; with you I am well pleased.” I also pray with this regularly in my own spiritual life, especially when I might question the Father’s love for me. This Scripture always brings me back into the Father’s loving embrace for me as His beloved son.
 
That is something I would recommend you take time to reflect upon today. In your prayer, imagine your own baptism. Imagine the heavens opening above you and the loving voice of the Father says to YOU, “You are my beloved son/daughter; with you I am well pleased.” Repeat this prayer experience daily for a week and let God’s graces pour into you. Let Him love you. Let Him embrace you.
 
Can you receive this type of love from the Father?
Do you know in your heart how much He loves you?
 
Let the Father’s love soak into your heart. Then go out and share that love with the world, with John the Baptist’s humility, drawing attention not to ourselves, but to the Lamb of God.
 
God bless,
Fr. Burke
To subscribe, go to https://frburke23.wordpress.com and go to the right hand column. Click on “Sign me up!” and start receiving these emails directly to your inbox.
Responses

  1. prayers for your daddy!

    On Thu, Jan 5, 2017 at 10:54 PM, Fr. Burke Masters wrote:

    > frburke23 posted: ” Thought for January 6, 2017 MARK 1:7-11 This is what > John the Baptist proclaimed: “One mightier than I is coming after me. I am > not worthy to stoop and loosen the thongs of his sandals. I have baptized > you with water; he will baptize you ” >

  2. The saint of the day is Saint André Bessette. Praying for healing for your dad especially with Saint Bessette and his patron saint, Saint Joseph.

  3. Keeping your father in my prayers. Sent from XFINITY Connect Mobile App


Leave a Reply

Categories

