Posted by: frburke23 | January 26, 2017

Thought for Friday, 3rd Week in Ordinary Time (January 27, 2017)

Thought for Friday, 3rd Week in Ordinary Time (January 27, 2017)
 
HEBREWS 10:32-39
Remember the days past when, after you had been enlightened,
you endured a great contest of suffering.
At times you were publicly exposed to abuse and affliction;
at other times you associated yourselves with those so treated.
You even joined in the sufferings of those in prison
and joyfully accepted the confiscation of your property,
knowing that you had a better and lasting possession.
Therefore, do not throw away your confidence;
it will have great recompense.
You need endurance to do the will of God and receive what he has promised.
 
For, after just a brief moment,
he who is to come shall come;
he shall not delay.
But my just one shall live by faith,
and if he draws back I take no pleasure in him.
 
We are not among those who draw back and perish,
but among those who have faith and will possess life.
================
The message I take away from this reading today from the Book of Hebrews is hope and perseverance. Many of the early Christians endured great trials and sufferings because of their faith. They endured public exposure “to abuse and affliction”. They accompanied others who were publicly humiliated or imprisoned because of their faith in Jesus. Some had their property confiscated, but let it go joyfully as they kept their eyes focused on the prize of their eternal home.
 
What would I do today if I suffered public humiliation for my faith?
What if they took everything I owned away from me on account of my profession of faith in Jesus Christ?
Would I still remain strong in my convictions?
 
The author of Hebrews tells the early Christians and us today, “do not throw away your confidence; it will have great recompense. You need endurance to do the will of God and receive what he has promised.”
 
From where do I get my confidence?
Am I one that can endure trials and suffering while I focus on the eternal prize?
Or I am so focused on the things of the earth, I would betray my Lord in order to avoid suffering?
 
Jesus urges us to remain strong in faith. He will come and we will win the victory with Him if we keep the faith and do not lose hope. There are many things going on in this world today that can be a cause for despair. We are tempted to lose hope. But Jesus urges us on in faith, hope, trust and joy. His recompense of eternal life awaits those who remain faithful.
 
Lord Jesus, help me to keep my eyes fixed on you at all times because you are the source of our hope. When you went to pray in the garden, you asked your disciples to watch and pray. They fell asleep. You ask us to watch and pray today, to keep hope amid the struggles around us. We fall asleep. We lose hope. In our weakness, we don’t want to endure the sufferings for your sake. Fill me with your grace to endure whatever trials may come my way. I know that you are with me in the good times and in the bad times. You never abandon me, but I lose sight of that at times. I want to do Your will. I want to be able to walk on water, if that be your will. I want to keep faith no matter what comes my way. You, Lord, can do all of this if I but maintain faith and keep my eyes fixed on you.
 
Peace,
Fr. Burke
 
Spanish translation:
 
HEBREOS 10:32-39
Hermanos: Recuerden aquellos primeros días en que, recién iluminados por el bautismo, tuvieron ustedes que afrontar duros y dolorosos combates. Unas veces fueron expuestos públicamente a los insultos y tormentos. Otras, compartieron los sufrimientos de los hermanos que eran maltratados, se compadecieron de los que estaban en la cárcel y aceptaron con alegría que los despojaran de sus propios bienes, sabiendo ustedes que están en posesión de otros, mejores y perdurables.
 
Por lo tanto, no pierdan la confianza, pues la recompensa es grande. Lo que ahora necesitan es la perseverancia, para que, cumpliendo la voluntad de Dios, alcancen lo prometido.
 
Atiendan a lo que dice la Escritura: Pronto, muy pronto, el que ha de venir vendrá y no tardará; y mi justo, si permanece fiel, vivirá; pero si desconfía, dejará de agradarme. Ahora bien, nosotros no somos de los que desconfían y perecen, sino hombres de fe, destinados a salvarnos.
=================
El mensaje que me llevo hoy de esta lectura del Libro de Hebreos es esperanza y perseverancia. Muchos de los primeros Cristianos soportaron grandes pruebas y sufrimientos por su fe. Ellos soportaron la exposición pública “al abuso y la aflicción”. Acompañaron a otros que fueron humillados públicamente o encarcelados por su fe en Jesús. A algunos los despojaron de sus bienes, pero lo dejaron ir alegremente mientras mantenían sus ojos enfocados en el premio de su hogar eterno.
 
¿Qué haría hoy si sufriera humillación pública por mi fe?
¿Y si me quitaran todo lo que me pertenecía por mi profesión de fe en Jesucristo?
¿Seguiría siendo fuerte en mis convicciones?
 
El autor de Hebreos le dice hoy a los primeros Cristianos y a nosotros: “no pierdan la confianza, pues la recompensa es grande. Lo que ahora necesitan es la perseverancia, para que, cumpliendo la voluntad de Dios, alcancen lo prometido.”
 
¿De dónde consigo mi confianza?
¿Soy capaz de soportar pruebas y sufrimientos mientras me enfoco en el premio eterno?
¿O estoy tan enfocado en las cosas de la tierra, traicionaría a mi Señor para evitar el sufrimiento?
 
Jesús nos insta a permanecer fuertes en la fe. Él vendrá y ganaremos la victoria con Él si mantenemos la fe y no perdemos la esperanza. Hay tantas cosas hoy sucediendo en este mundo que pueden ser una causa de desesperación. Estamos tentados a perder la esperanza. Pero Jesús nos insta en fe, esperanza, confianza y gozo. Su recompensa de la vida eterna espera a los que permanecen fieles.
 
Señor Jesús, ayúdame a mantener los ojos fijos en ti en todo momento, porque tú eres la fuente de nuestra esperanza. Cuando fuiste a orar en el huerto, pediste a tus discípulos que velaran y oraran. Se durmieron. Hoy nos pides que velemos y oremos, para mantener la esperanza en medio de las luchas que nos rodean. Nos quedamos dormidos. Perdemos la esperanza. En nuestra debilidad, no queremos soportar los sufrimientos por tu causa. Lléname de tu gracia para soportar cualquier prueba que pueda venir en mi camino. Sé que estás conmigo en los tiempos buenos y en los tiempos malos. Nunca me abandonas, pero a veces pierdo eso de vista. Quiero hacer tu voluntad. Quiero poder caminar sobre el agua, si esa es tu voluntad. Quiero mantener la fe, no importa lo que venga en mi camino. Tú, Señor, puedes hacer todo esto si mantengo la fe y mantengo mis ojos fijos en ti.
 
Paz,
Padre Burke
Leave a Reply

Categories

