Posted by: frburke23 | February 18, 2017

Thought for 7th Sunday in Ordinary Time (February 19, 2017)

Thought for 7th Sunday in Ordinary Time (February 19, 2017)
 
MATTHEW 5:38-48
Jesus said to his disciples:
“You have heard that it was said,
An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth.
But I say to you, offer no resistance to one who is evil.
When someone strikes you on your right cheek,
turn the other one as well.
If anyone wants to go to law with you over your tunic,
hand over your cloak as well.
Should anyone press you into service for one mile,
go for two miles.
Give to the one who asks of you,
and do not turn your back on one who wants to borrow.
 
“You have heard that it was said,
You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.
But I say to you, love your enemies
and pray for those who persecute you,
that you may be children of your heavenly Father,
for he makes his sun rise on the bad and the good,
and causes rain to fall on the just and the unjust.
For if you love those who love you, what recompense will you have?
Do not the tax collectors do the same?
And if you greet your brothers only,
what is unusual about that?
Do not the pagans do the same?
So be perfect, just as your heavenly Father is perfect.”
=========================
Jesus challenges us in the Gospel for this Sunday. Think of the last time you were really hurt or betrayed by someone. Our initial reaction may be “an eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth.” However, Jesus challenges us to “offer no resistance to one who is evil.” Not only are we not to resist, but Jesus calls us to offer the other cheek or give people more than they ask for from us.
 
If that was not difficult enough, Jesus tells us to “love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be children of your heavenly Father.” He says that it is easy to love those who love us, but perfect love reaches to our enemies.
 
Two different memories arise for me around this Gospel. I remember betraying the trust of a good friend. I thought I had lost the friendship and he was very angry with me at first. However, after a short amount of time, he forgave me and we worked at rebuilding the friendship. This friend was living out this gospel passage for me. He easily could have sought an eye for an eye. He easily could have ended the friendship and moved on. This friend forgave me and embrace our friendship once again. I will never forget the lesson he taught me.
 
The other memory involves a situation in which I was wronged and betrayed. For many years I held on to the resentment and anger for this person. The words in this gospel always hit me at the core of my being. Then my spiritual director asked me to do pray and ask God for three things:
1) Lord, help me to SEE this person like you see him.
2) Lord, help me to FORGIVE this person like you have forgiven him.
3) Lord, help me to LOVE this person like you love him.
 
When I prayed, the Lord helped me to see this person differently. I began to see him with compassion and mercy in a new way because I realized he too is a child of God. He deserves my forgiveness, just like I desire God’s forgiveness, and just like my friend forgave me.
 
We are often quick to anger and to hold grudges, and yet we want to be forgiven immediately for our sins and transgressions. Jesus asks us to “be perfect, just as your heavenly Father is perfect.” As fallen human beings, we cannot love or forgive perfectly. However, with the grace of God, all things are possible. Jesus and my friend have taught me how to love and forgive freely in the same way I desire to love and be forgiven.
 
Do you have anyone with whom you are holding a grudge?
Can you remember the last time you needed forgiveness from God or someone else?
 
Pray to the Lord to see, forgive and love this person who has wronged you. Give it to God and let it go. Holding a grudge only hurts you, not the other person. Forgiveness and the healing of old wounds leads to freedom, peace and joy.
 
Have a blessed weekend!
Fr. Burke
 
Spanish translation:
 
Mateo 5, 38-48
En aquel tiempo, Jesús dijo a sus discípulos: “Han oído que se dijo: Ojo por ojo, diente por diente; pero yo les digo que no hagan resistencia al hombre malo. Si alguno te golpea en la mejilla derecha, preséntale también la izquierda; al que te quiera demandar en juicio para quitarte la túnica, cédele también el manto. Si alguno te obliga a caminar mil pasos en su servicio, camina con él dos mil. Al que te pide, dale; y al que quiere que le prestes, no le vuelvas la espalda.
 
Han oído que se dijo: Ama a tu prójimo y odia a tu enemigo. Yo, en cambio, les digo: Amen a sus enemigos, hagan el bien a los que los odian y rueguen por los que los persiguen y calumnian, para que sean hijos de su Padre celestial, que hace salir su sol sobre los buenos y los malos, y manda su lluvia sobre los justos y los injustos.
 
Porque, si ustedes aman a los que los aman, ¿qué recompensa merecen? ¿No hacen eso mismo los publicanos? Y si saludan tan sólo a sus hermanos, ¿qué hacen de extraordinario? ¿No hacen eso mismo los paganos? Ustedes, pues, sean perfectos, como su Padre celestial es perfecto”.
=================
Jesús nos desafía en el Evangelio de este domingo. Piense en la última vez en que fue realmente herido o traicionado por alguien. Nuestra reacción inicial puede ser “ojo por ojo y diente por diente”. Sin embargo, Jesús nos reta a “no ofrecer resistencia a quien es malo”. No sólo no debemos resistirnos, sino que Jesús nos llama a ofrecer la otra mejilla o dar a la gente más de lo que nos piden.
Si lo anterior no era lo suficientemente difícil, Jesús nos dice que “amen a sus enemigos y oren por los que los persiguen, para que sean hijos de su Padre celestial”. Jesús dice que es fácil amar a los que nos aman, pero el amor perfecto llega cuando amamos a nuestros enemigos.
Dos recuerdos diferentes surgen en mí en torno a este Evangelio. Recuerdo haber traicionado la confianza de un buen amigo. Pensé que había perdido su amistad y él estaba muy enojado conmigo al principio. Sin embargo, después de un corto período de tiempo, me perdonó y trabajamos en reconstruir nuestra amistad. Mi amigo estaba viviendo este pasaje del evangelio para mí. Él fácilmente podría haber buscado ojo por ojo. Él fácilmente podría haber terminado nuestra amistad y seguir adelante. Este amigo me perdonó y aceptó nuestra amistad una vez más. Nunca olvidaré la lección que me enseñó.
El otro recuerdo implica una situación en la que fui agraviado y traicionado. Durante muchos años me aferré al resentimiento y a la ira por esa persona. Las palabras de este evangelio siempre me golpearon en el corazón de mi ser. Entonces mi director espiritual me pidió que orara y le pidiera a Dios tres cosas:
1) Señor, ayúdame a VER a esta persona como tú la ves.
2) Señor, ayúdame a PERDONAR a esta persona como tú la has perdonado.
3) Señor, ayúdame a AMAR a esta persona como tú la amas.
Cuando lo hice, el Señor me ayudó a ver a esta persona de manera diferente. Comencé a verla de una manera nueva con compasión y misericordia porque me di cuenta de que él también es un hijo de Dios. Él merece mi perdón, igual que yo deseo el perdón de Dios, y justo cómo mi amigo me perdonó.
A menudo nos apresuramos a la ira y a guardar rencor, y sin embargo queremos ser perdonados inmediatamente por nuestros pecados y transgresiones. Jesús nos pide que “seamos perfectos, así como nuestro Padre celestial es perfecto.” Como seres humanos caídos, no podemos amar o perdonar perfectamente. Sin embargo, con la gracia de Dios, todas las cosas son posibles. Jesús y mi amigo me han enseñado a amar y perdonar libremente de la misma manera que deseo amar y ser perdonado.
¿Con alguien estás guardando rencor?
¿Puedes recordar la última vez que necesitaste perdón de Dios o de alguien más?
Ore al Señor para que vea, perdone y ame a esta persona quien le ha ofendido. Déselo a Dios y déjelo ir. Mantener un rencor sólo te duele a ti, no la otra persona. El perdón y la sanación de viejas heridas nos conducen a la libertad, a la paz y a la alegría.
Que tenga un buen fin de semana!
Padre Burke
Leave a Reply

Categories

