Posted by: frburke23 | May 14, 2017

Thought for 5th Sunday of Easter (May 14, 2017 – Mothers’ Day)

Thought for 5th Sunday of Easter (May 14, 2017 – Mothers’ Day)

JOHN 14:1-12
Jesus said to his disciples:
“Do not let your hearts be troubled.
You have faith in God; have faith also in me.
In my Father’s house there are many dwelling places.
If there were not,
would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you?
And if I go and prepare a place for you,
I will come back again and take you to myself,
so that where I am you also may be.
Where I am going you know the way.”
Thomas said to him,
“Master, we do not know where you are going;
how can we know the way?”
Jesus said to him, I am the way and the truth and the life.
No one comes to the Father except through me.
If you know me, then you will also know my Father.
From now on you do know him and have seen him.”
Philip said to him,
“Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us.”
Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you for so long a time
and you still do not know me, Philip?
Whoever has seen me has seen the Father.
How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?
Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me?
The words that I speak to you I do not speak on my own.
The Father who dwells in me is doing his works.
Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me,
or else, believe because of the works themselves.
Amen, amen, I say to you,
whoever believes in me will do the works that I do,
and will do greater ones than these,
because I am going to the Father.”
====================================
Have you experienced a troubled heart? Have you doubted Jesus’s presence in your life? Or wondered whether heaven exists? Jesus invites us into communion with Him in prayer. He wants to lift our heavy burdens and promises us that not only will He be with us on earth, but will also He has prepared a place for us in heaven to be with Him forever. Do I believe that?

It should give us great hope that these saints were not perfect. In fact, they doubted and had questions about their faith. Today we hear Jesus directing His comments to doubting Thomas, “If you know me, then you will also know my Father.” Philip innocently responds, “Master, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.” You can imagine Jesus smacking His own forehead and saying, “Have I been with you for so long a time and you still do not know me, Philip?” In other words, “You still don’t get it, do you?”

Jesus had spent a lengthy amount of time teaching His followers that “I am in the Father and the Father is in me.” Jesus tells them that if they know Him, they know the Father. He is the perfect reflection of the Father here on earth. But Jesus patiently taught the disciples this truth so that when they started to crucify Him, they would know what was happening. However, they panicked when the passion began and they all left Jesus, except John.

Of course, we know the story that Jesus rose from the dead and “he appeared to James, then to all the Apostles.” (1 Corinthians 15:7) When the Apostles saw Jesus alive again and they received the Holy Spirit, they all gave their lives for Jesus as martyrs, except for John, who died of natural causes.

The Lord calls me and you to be saints as well. The first apostles should give us hope, especially when we doubt and have questions about our faith. The key is that we should never stop seeking Jesus, who is the “way, the truth and the life.” Pope Francis has talked a lot about having an encounter with the living Jesus. The Lord wants to encounter us in Scripture, in the Eucharist, in one another, in an act of kindness, in a sunset, etc. He is constantly reaching out for us to show us His love.

The more we can abide in His love, the more we abide with the embrace of the Holy Trinity, more we can receive all that He wants to give us. When we remain as branches on the vine, the divine life can flow us like sap flows through a tree.

Do I have doubts and questions about my faith?
Do I seek to encounter the living Christ in prayer?
Has my heart been transformed by the power of the Holy Spirit?
Do I abide in Christ through prayer, Scripture and the Sacraments?

Have a blessed Mother’s Day to all the Mothers today!
Fr. Burke

Leave a Reply

Categories

