Posted by: frburke23 | June 24, 2017

Thought for 12th Sunday of Ordinary Time (June 25, 2017)

Thought for 12th Sunday of Ordinary Time (June 25, 2017)
 
JEREMIAH 20:10-13
Jeremiah said:
“I hear the whisperings of many:
‘Terror on every side!
Denounce! let us denounce him!’
All those who were my friends
are on the watch for any misstep of mine.
‘Perhaps he will be trapped; then we can prevail,
and take our vengeance on him.’
But the LORD is with me, like a mighty champion:
my persecutors will stumble, they will not triumph.
In their failure they will be put to utter shame,
to lasting, unforgettable confusion.
O LORD of hosts, you who test the just,
who probe mind and heart,
let me witness the vengeance you take on them,
for to you I have entrusted my cause.
Sing to the LORD,
praise the LORD,
for he has rescued the life of the poor
from the power of the wicked!”
======================
Have you ever felt like Jeremiah? Listen to these words from the prophet Jeremiah:
 
“I hear the whisperings of many:
‘Terror on every side!
Denounce! let us denounce him!’
All those who were my friends
are on the watch for any misstep of mine.
‘Perhaps he will be trapped; then we can prevail,
and take our vengeance on him.’
 
Did you ever feel like the entire world was out to get you? Jeremiah was a young man, maybe as young as 13, sent by God to convert the nations. He didn’t feel prepared for the mission and thought he was too young. And yet God was with him every step of the way and gave him the words that he needed at the right time. This first reading from Jeremiah ends by praising God for His faithfulness and power.
 
Listen to the words of Truth, power and direction that Jeremiah speaks in the very next verse…
 
“But the Lord is with me, like a mighty Champion: my persecutors will stumble, they will not triumph. In their failure they will be put to utter shame.”
 
Jesus gives us a similar message in the Gospel reading.
 
“Fear no one.
And do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul;
rather, be afraid of the one who can destroy
both soul and body in Gehenna.
 
Jesus says hundreds of times, “Do not be afraid.” People may hurt us with words. But remember who you belong to – you are a beloved child of God the Father. That identity never changes, no matter what other people may say or do. We should not even fear ones who can kill our body, Jesus says, but we should fear the one that take our soul. We should guard our soul like the pearl of great price that it is.
 
Jesus continues:
 
Even all the hairs of your head are counted.
So do not be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.
 
God takes care of the birds of the air and the lilies of the field. How much more will He take care of you? He loves you more than you can possibly imagine. This love calls for a response from us. Jesus continues:
 
Everyone who acknowledges me before others
I will acknowledge before my heavenly Father.
But whoever denies me before others,
I will deny before my heavenly Father.”
 
We are called to acknowledge Jesus before others in big and small ways. Our faith is not a private venture. Every gift given to us is meant to be shared, especially our faith. At the same time, we are not all called to preach on the street corners or in church. But each one of us, in our particular walk of life, is called to bring Christ to the world.
 
What does that look like for us?
1) Regularly going to Mass to allow the Lord to fill you with His Word and Eucharist.
2) Going to confession regularly (once a month) to allow God’s mercy and grace to transform you.
3) Doing your work with a spirit of peace and joy.
4) Apologize when you mess up. Accept an apology when someone asks for forgiveness. What we give, we receive.
 
There is fear sharing our faith in the public arena. But Jesus tells us not to fear those people. He will be with us. If we acknowledge Him, He will acknowledge us. If we deny Him, He will deny us. None of us wants to be denied in heaven. Start today by living heaven on earth with an intimate relationship with Christ.
 
Have a blessed Sunday!
Fr. Burke
 
Spanish translation:
Jeremias 20:10-13
En aquel tiempo, dijo Jeremías:
“Yo oía el cuchicheo de la gente que decía:
‘Denunciemos a Jeremías,
denunciemos al profeta del terror’.
Todos los que eran mis amigos espiaban mis pasos,
esperaban que tropezara y me cayera, diciendo:
‘Si se tropieza y se cae, lo venceremos
y podremos vengarnos de él’.
 
Pero el Señor, guerrero poderoso, está a mi lado;
por eso mis perseguidores caerán por tierra
y no podrán conmigo;
quedarán avergonzados de su fracaso
y su ignominia será eterna e inolvidable.
 
Señor de los ejércitos, que pones a prueba al justo
y conoces lo más profundo de los corazones,
haz que yo vea tu venganza contra ellos,
porque a ti he encomendado mi causa.
 
Canten y alaben al Señor,
porque él ha salvado la vida de su pobre
de la mano de los malvados”.
===================
¿Alguna vez te has sentido como Jeremías? Escuchen estas palabras del profeta Jeremías:
 
“Yo oía el cuchicheo de la gente que decía:
‘Denunciemos a Jeremías,
denunciemos al profeta del terror’.
Todos los que eran mis amigos espiaban mis pasos,
esperaban que tropezara y me cayera, diciendo:
‘Si se tropieza y se cae, lo venceremos
y podremos vengarnos de él’.”
 
¿Alguna vez te has sentido como si el mundo entero te fuera en contra? Jeremías era un joven, tal vez de sólo 13 años, enviado por Dios para convertir a las naciones. No se sentía preparado para la misión y pensó que era demasiado joven. Y sin embargo Dios estaba con él a cada paso del camino y le dio las palabras que necesitaba en el momento adecuado. Esta lectura de Jeremías termina alabando a Dios por su fidelidad y poder.
 
Escucha las palabras de Verdad, poder y dirección que Jeremías habla en el versículo siguiente …
 
“Pero el Señor, guerrero poderoso, está a mi lado;
por eso mis perseguidores caerán por tierra
y no podrán conmigo;
quedarán avergonzados de su fracaso
y su ignominia será eterna e inolvidable.”
 
Jesús nos da un mensaje similar en la lectura del Evangelio.
 
” No tengan miedo a los que matan el cuerpo, pero no pueden matar el alma. Teman, más bien, a quien puede arrojar al lugar de castigo el alma y el cuerpo.”
 
Jesús dice cientos de veces, “No tengas miedo.” La gente puede herirnos con palabras. Pero recuerda a quién perteneces: eres un hijo amado de Dios Padre. Esa identidad nunca cambia, no importa lo que otras personas puedan decir o hacer. No debemos ni siquiera temer a los que pueden matar nuestro cuerpo, dice Jesús, pero debemos temer al que puede matar el alma. Debemos guardar nuestra alma como la perla de gran precio.
 
Jesús continúa:
 
“En cuanto a ustedes, hasta los cabellos de su cabeza están contados. Por lo tanto, no tengan miedo, porque ustedes valen mucho más que todos los pájaros del mundo.”
 
Dios cuida las aves del cielo y las flores del campo. ¿Cuánto más te cuidará? Él te ama más de lo que puedas imaginar. Este amor requiere una respuesta de nosotros. Jesús continúa:
 
“A quien me reconozca delante de los hombres, yo también lo reconoceré ante mi Padre, que está en los cielos; pero al que me niegue delante de los hombres, yo también lo negaré ante mi Padre.”
 
Somos llamados a evangelizar de maneras grandes y pequeñas. Nuestra fe no es algo privado. Todo don que se nos da es para ser compartido, especialmente nuestra fe. Al mismo tiempo, no todos somos llamados a predicar en las esquinas o en la iglesia. Pero cada uno de nosotros, en nuestra vida particular, está llamado a traer a Cristo al mundo.
 
¿Qué significa esto para nosotros?
1) Ir regularmente a misa para permitir que el Señor le llene con Su Palabra y Su Cuerpo y Sangre.
2) Ir a la confesión regularmente (una vez al mes) para permitir que la misericordia y la gracia de Dios le transformen.
3) Hacer su trabajo con un espíritu de paz y alegría.
4) Disculpar cuando alguien te ofende. Acepta una disculpa cuando alguien te pide perdón. Lo que damos es lo que recibimos.
 
Hay miedo compartiendo nuestra fe en la arena pública. Pero Jesús nos dice que no temamos a esa gente. Él estará con nosotros. Si lo reconocemos, Él nos reconocerá. Si le negamos, nos negará. Ninguno de nosotros quiere ser negado en el cielo. Empiece hoy a vivir el cielo en la tierra con una relación íntima con Cristo.
 
¡Ten un bendito domingo!
P. Burke
Leave a Reply

Categories

