Posted by: frburke23 | July 1, 2017

Thought for 13th Sunday of Ordinary Time (July 2, 2017)

Thought for 13th Sunday of Ordinary Time (July 2, 2017)

MATTHEW 10:37-42
Jesus said to his apostles:
“Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me,
and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me;
and whoever does not take up his cross
and follow after me is not worthy of me.
Whoever finds his life will lose it,
and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.

“Whoever receives you receives me,
and whoever receives me receives the one who sent me.
Whoever receives a prophet because he is a prophet
will receive a prophet’s reward,
and whoever receives a righteous man
because he is a righteous man
will receive a righteous man’s reward.
And whoever gives only a cup of cold water
to one of these little ones to drink
because the little one is a disciple—
amen, I say to you, he will surely not lose his reward.”
========================
Think about the happiest person you know. I would guess that this same person is probably the most generous person you know as well, right? I remember our previous Bishop Sartain saying, “The happiest people I know are the most generous. I have never met a selfish person who is truly happy.” Why is this true? Because God made us to give our lives away. We find our true happiness in giving of ourselves in a generous way.

This life is not about us. The sooner we learn this lesson, the more we truly will enjoy life. All is a gift from God and all should be offered to God so that He can use it in the best way possible. God has taught me this lesson in a powerful way. I always wanted to use my gifts for my glory and honor. I wanted to be a rich and famous baseball player because I thought that would make me very happy. The Lord invited me to lay down my life for Him as a priest and I’ve never been happier. I thought I was giving up baseball, one of my true passions and talents, and now God has allowed me to be the Catholic chaplain for the Chicago Cubs.

God calls us to be generous not only with our vocation, but also in the everyday decisions that we have to make. Many times during the day we have to decide, “Am I going to be selfish right now or am I going to be generous?”

In the first reading (2 Kings 4), a “woman of influence” and her husband generously offered the prophet Elisha a place to stay every time he came to town. Elisha asked God to bless her with a son, since they were not able to have children, and God answered his prayers. Their generosity to Elisha came back to them in ways they never thought possible.

Jesus uses shocking language in the Gospel today. He tells us that if we love our parents, our children or even our own life more than Him, we are not worthy to be His disciples. Is Jesus asking us to hate our parents or our children? Of course not. However, if we place any person or anything in the place of God, our lives are out of order. God made us and knows what is going to make us the happiest. If we make Him the center of our lives and then pour out ourselves to love others, we will find the abundant life that He promises in this life and in the next.

How do we grow in this area?
1) Know who you are. Your fundamental identity is that you are a beloved son/daughter of God. God loves you unconditionally.
2) All is gift. Everything that you have and all that you are is a gift from God. Nothing is yours. God gives us the very breath that we breathe. He gave you the gifts and talents for a purpose in this world.
3) Give it all away. If you want to save your life, give it away. Offer to God what He has already given to you and watch Him multiply it. You will not lose anything. In fact, you will gain more than you ever imagined.

Have a blessed weekend!
Fr. Burke

Spanish translation:

Mateo 10, 37-42
En aquel tiempo, Jesús dijo a sus apóstoles: El que ama a su padre o a su madre más que a mí, no es digno de mí; el que ama a su hijo o a su hija más que a mí, no es digno de mí; y el que no toma su cruz y me sigue, no es digno de mí.

El que salve su vida la perderá y el que la pierda por mí, la salvará.

Quien los recibe a ustedes me recibe a mí; y quien me recibe a mí, recibe al que me ha enviado.

El que recibe a un profeta por ser profeta, recibirá recompensa de profeta; el que recibe a un justo por ser justo, recibirá recompensa de justo.

Quien diere, aunque no sea más que un vaso de agua fría a uno de estos pequeños, por ser discípulo mío, yo les aseguro que no perderá su recompensa”.
======================
Piense en la persona más feliz que conoce. Supongo que esta misma persona es probablemente la persona más generosa que usted conoce, ¿verdad? Recuerdo a nuestro anterior obispo Sartain diciendo: “Las personas más felices que conozco son las más generosas. Nunca he conocido a una persona egoísta que sea verdaderamente feliz. “¿Por qué esto es cierto? Porque Dios nos hizo para dar nuestras vidas. Encontramos nuestra verdadera felicidad en darnos de una manera generosa, completa para Dios.

Esta vida no es de nosotros. Lo mas pronto que aprendamos esta lección, más verdaderamente disfrutaremos de la vida. Todo es un regalo de Dios y todo debe ser ofrecido a Dios para que Él pueda usarlo de la mejor manera posible. Dios me ha enseñado esta lección de una manera poderosa. Siempre quise usar mis dones para mi gloria y honor. Quería ser un jugador de béisbol rico y famoso porque pensé que me haría muy feliz. El Señor me invitó a dar mi vida por él como sacerdote y nunca he sido más feliz. Pensé que estaba abandonando el béisbol, una de mis verdaderas pasiones y talentos, y ahora Dios me ha permitido ser el capellán católico de los Cachorros de Chicago.

Dios nos llama a ser generosos no sólo con nuestra vocación, sino también en las decisiones cotidianas que tenemos que tomar. Muchas veces durante el día tenemos que decidir, “¿Voy a ser egoísta ahora o voy a ser generoso?”

En la primera lectura (2 Reyes 4), una “mujer de influencia” y su esposo ofrecieron generosamente al profeta Eliseo un lugar para quedarse cada vez que venía a la ciudad. Eliseo pidió a Dios que la bendiga con un hijo, ya que no pudieron tener hijos, y Dios respondió a sus oraciones. Su generosidad hacia Eliseo se volvió a ellos en formas que nunca pensaron posible.

Jesús usa lenguaje chocante en el Evangelio de hoy. Él nos dice que si amamos a nuestros padres, a nuestros hijos o a nuestra propia vida más que a Él, no somos dignos de ser sus discípulos. ¿Jesús nos está pidiendo que odiemos a nuestros padres o a nuestros hijos? Por supuesto no. Sin embargo, si colocamos a cualquier persona o algo en el lugar de Dios, nuestras vidas están fuera de orden. Dios nos hizo y sabe lo que nos hará más felices. Si le hacemos el centro de nuestras vidas y luego nos despojamos para amar a los demás, encontraremos la vida abundante que Él promete en esta vida y en la siguiente.

¿Cómo crecemos en esta área?
1) Sepa quién es usted. Su identidad fundamental es que usted es un hijo / una hija amado/a de Dios. Dios te ama incondicionalmente.
2) Todo es un regalo de Dios. Todo lo que tienes y todo lo que eres es un regalo de Dios. Nada es tuyo. Dios nos da el mismo aliento que respiramos. Él te dio los dones y talentos para un propósito en este mundo.
3) Délo todo para la gloria de Dios. Si quieres salvar tu vida, dáselo. Ofrezca a Dios lo que ya le ha dado y observe cómo lo multiplica. No perderás nada. De hecho, ganarás más de lo que jamás hubieras imaginado.

¡Que tengas un fin de semana bendito!
P. Burke

Responses

  1. Hi, Fr. Burke! Thank you again for your encouraging comments!

  2. Fr. Burke , Praying everything is ok missed you Thought of the day yesterday & today. In Christ & Love , Bill & Sue Crow

    Sent from my iPhone

    >


Leave a Reply

Categories

