Posted by: frburke23 | August 1, 2017

Thought for Wednesday, 17th Week of Ordinary Time (August 2, 2017)

Thought for Wednesday, 17th Week of Ordinary Time (August 2, 2017)
 
(Primero el Inglés, sigue el Español)
 
Matthew 13:44-46
 
Jesus said to his disciples:
“The Kingdom of heaven is like a treasure buried in a field,
which a person finds and hides again,
and out of joy goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.
Again, the Kingdom of heaven is like a merchant
searching for fine pearls.
When he finds a pearl of great price,
he goes and sells all that he has and buys it.”
===============
What are you willing to sell, release or surrender for the sake of the Kingdom of God? That is the question that comes to mind for me when I read the Gospel this morning. Jesus is telling His disciples that when they truly find the Kingdom of heaven, they will be willing to sell everything, out of joy, to purchase it.
I remember as I felt the call to the priesthood many years ago saying to myself and to the Lord, “Why would I give up this career and my plans to follow something that I don’t know much about?” I have a good job. I’m making good money. Why would I give this up? I have no idea where you are leading me Lord? Will I be happy? Am I making a mistake? Peter, James, John, Matthew and the others probably had similar questions go through their minds.
Then I began to think of all the things I would give up to follow the Lord – wife, children, income, status, possible fame, luxury items, freedom… But the Lord continued to call me. And I remembered the Scripture where Jesus says that no one who gives up family and homeland for His sake would be left unrewarded.
I didn’t become a priest to get rewarded, but I simply surrendered, not knowing exactly where this would lead me. It was frightening and went against every bit of my logic. It didn’t make sense according to worldly standards, yet everything in my heart told me to follow this call.
Now it has been 20 years after I surrendered (5 in the seminary, 15 as a priest). I no longer count the cost of discipleship. I no longer think about what I gave up to do this. I only see the joy and peace that fills my heart to serve the Lord and His people. I have been blessed abundantly. And I would happily give up everything again to follow Him, wherever it leads me.
Where is the Lord calling you today? Is He asking you to surrender something? To let go of something? An attachment? An addiction? A material thing? A job? “Go sell everything you have and follow me”, He told the rich man. But the rich man went away sad. What will you do?
We can’t out-give the Lord in generosity. He promises to be with us always and to give us an inner peace that surpasses all understanding. Our Bishop often says, “There is no selfish person in the world that is truly happy.” May we be generous givers…our minds, our hearts and our souls – that is what the Lord wants of us – everything!
Peace,
Fr. Burke
 
Spanish translation:
San Mateo 13,44-46.
El Reino de los Cielos se parece a un tesoro escondido en un campo; un hombre lo encuentra, lo vuelve a esconder, y lleno de alegría, vende todo lo que posee y compra el campo.
El Reino de los Cielos se parece también a un negociante que se dedicaba a buscar perlas finas;
y al encontrar una de gran valor, fue a vender todo lo que tenía y la compró.
================
¿A quién estás dispuesto a rendirte, qué es lo que estás dispuesto a vender, o de qué estás dispuesto a liberarte para poder alcanzar el Reino de Dios? Esta es la pregunte que se me viene a la mente cuando leo este Evangelio esta mañana. Jesús les está diciendo a sus discípulos que cuando realmente encuentran el Reino del Cielo, por alegría estarán dispuestos a vender todo, y comprarlo.
 
Recuerdo hace años, cuando sentí el llamado al sacerdocio y me preguntaba a mí mismo y al Señor “¿Por qué me voy a deshacer de mi carrera profesional y de mis planes y seguir algo que no conozco bien? Tengo un buen trabajo. Estoy ganando buen dinero. ¿Por qué voy a renunciar a todo esto? ¿Señor, no tengo idea a dónde me estás conduciendo? ¿Seré feliz? ¿Estaré cometiendo un error? Probablemente les paso por la mente preguntas similares a Pedro, Santiago, Juan, a Mateo y a los demás.
 
Entonces empecé a pensar en todas las cosas que iba a renunciar por seguir al Señor –, esposa, hijos, ingresos, estatus social, una posible fama, artículos de lujo, libertad… Pero el Señor me continuó llamando. Y recordé ese pasaje de la Escritura dónde Jesús dice que él qué renuncie a su familia y patria por el reino de los cielos no quedará sin recompensa.
 
Yo no me ordené sacerdote para ser recompensado, simplemente me le rendí, sin saber exactamente donde me llevaría esto. Era espantoso y fue en contra de toda mi lógica. No tenía sentido conforme a las normas mundanas, sin embargo, todo en mi corazón me decía que siguiera este llamado.
 
Ya han pasado 20 años desde que me le rendí al Señor (5 en el seminario, 15 como sacerdote). Ya no cuento el precio del discipulado. Ya no pienso en lo que tuve que renunciar para hacer esto. Sólo miro la alegría y la paz en mi corazón para servir al Señor y a su pueblo. He sido bendecido abundantemente. Y felizmente dejaría todo de vuelta para seguirlo a Él, dondequiera que me lleve.
 
¿El día de hoy, a qué te está llamando el Señor? ¿Qué te está pidiendo que le entregues? ¿De qué necesitas deshacerte? ¿Algo a lo cual tú estás apegado? ¿Una adicción? ¿Una cosa material? ¿Un trabajo? “Vende todo lo que tengas y sígueme”, le dijo al hombre rico. Pero el hombre rico se fue triste. ¿Qué harás tú?
 
Nosotros no podemos sobrepasar al Señor en generosidad. Él nos promete estar siempre con nosotros y darnos una paz interna que sobrepasa todo el entendimiento. Nuestro Obispo frecuentemente dice, “No hay una sola persona egoísta en este mundo que verdaderamente sea feliz.” Seamos personas generosas… nuestras mentes, nuestros corazones y nuestras almas – Eso es lo que El Señor quiere de nosotros – ¡Todo!
Paz,
Fr. Burke
Leave a Reply

Categories

