Thought for November 26, 2017 – Feast of Christ the King

Thought for November 26, 2017 – Feast of Christ the King
 
MATTHEW 25:31-46
Jesus said to his disciples:
“When the Son of Man comes in his glory,
and all the angels with him,
he will sit upon his glorious throne,
and all the nations will be assembled before him.
And he will separate them one from another,
as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats.
He will place the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.
Then the king will say to those on his right,
‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father.
Inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.
For I was hungry and you gave me food,
I was thirsty and you gave me drink,
a stranger and you welcomed me,
naked and you clothed me,
ill and you cared for me,
in prison and you visited me.’
Then the righteous will answer him and say,
‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you,
or thirsty and give you drink?
When did we see you a stranger and welcome you,
or naked and clothe you?
When did we see you ill or in prison, and visit you?’
And the king will say to them in reply,
‘Amen, I say to you, whatever you did
for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.’
Then he will say to those on his left,
‘Depart from me, you accursed,
into the eternal fire prepared for the Devil and his angels.
For I was hungry and you gave me no food,
I was thirsty and you gave me no drink,
a stranger and you gave me no welcome,
naked and you gave me no clothing,
ill and in prison, and you did not care for me.’
Then they will answer and say,
‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty
or a stranger or naked or ill or in prison,
and not minister to your needs?’
He will answer them, ‘Amen, I say to you,
what you did not do for one of these least ones,
you did not do for me.’
And these will go off to eternal punishment,
but the righteous to eternal life.”
=========================
Today we celebrate Christ the King. Advent begins next week! The readings this Sunday point us to Jesus as the Good Shepherd. We have glimpses of our God who is very merciful and just at the same time.
 
In the first reading from the prophet Ezekiel, I am struck by the image of God as a shepherd. “I will pasture my sheep.” God will seek out the lost, the strayed, the injured and the sick. And those who are sleek and strong will be destroyed. Our bishops carry a crozier, which is a shepherd’s staff. The shepherds use the hook on the staff to bring back the lost, as well as to ward off the enemy attackers. The bishop is the chief shepherd of the diocese.
 
In the Gospel, we have the image of both the king and shepherd. Jesus sits upon his “glorious throne, and all nations will be assembled before him.” From His throne He will separate the sheep from the goats. What is the deciding factor to separate the sheep and the goats? It is not only the acceptance of Jesus as our Lord and savior that is important. Jesus separates us based on our actions. Those who feed the hungry, visit the imprisoned and care for the sick will “inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.” Those who neglect the hungry, the sick, the imprisoned and the stranger will “go off to eternal punishment.”
 
On this feast day of Christ the King, we are reminded that we have a God who loves us and cares for us, while at the same time we are called to put our love into action. Jesus never asks us to do something that He didn’t do Himself. He ministered to the hungry, the thirsty, the naked, the imprisoned and the outcast. Who would Jesus be ministering to today? The unborn, the elderly, the immigrant, the sick, the homeless, the poor, those on death row, anyone who is cast aside by society. I believe that the Lord would meet each person where they are, love them, and then call them to holiness.
 
Have I claimed Jesus as the King of my life?
Do I let Him love me and shepherd me?
Do I put into action the love Jesus has placed in my heart?
How do I treat the lowly and the poor?
 
The consequences of our actions can be eternal.
 
Have a blessed weekend!
Fr. Burke
 
Here is the Spanish translation:
 
MATEO 25:31-46
Jesús dijo a sus discípulos:
“Cuando el Hijo del Hombre venga en su gloria,
y todos los ángeles con él,
él se sentará en su trono de gloria,
y todas las naciones se reunirán delante de él.
Y él separará a unos de otros,
como el pastor separa las ovejas de las cabras.
El Pondrá las ovejas a su derecha y los cabritos a su izquierda
Entonces el Rey les dirá a los de su derecha,
“Vengan, ustedes benditos de mi Padre.
Heredaran el reino preparado para ustedes desde la fundación del mundo.
Porque tuve hambre y ustedes me dieron de comer;
Tuve sed, y me dieron de beber,
un forastero y me dieron la bienvenida,
desnudo y me vistieron,
enfermo y se preocuparon por mí,
en la cárcel, y me visitaron. “
Entonces los justos le responderán a él diciendo:
‘Señor, ¿cuándo te vimos hambriento y te alimentamos,
o sediento, y te dimos de beber?
¿Y cuándo te vimos forastero y te dimos la bienvenida,
o desnudo, y te vestimos?
¿Cuándo te vimos enfermo o en la cárcel, y te visitamos a ti? ‘
Y el Rey les dirá en respuesta,
‘En verdad les digo que cuanto hicieron
para uno de esos hermanos míos más pequeños, a mí lo hicieron.”
Entonces les dirá a los de su izquierda,
“Apártense de mí, malditos,
al fuego eterno preparado para el diablo y sus ángeles.
Porque tuve hambre y no me dieron de comer,
Tuve sed, y no me dieron de beber,
forastero, y no me dieron la bienvenida,
desnudo, y no me dieron ropa,
enfermo y en la cárcel, y no se preocuparon por mí. ‘
Entonces van a responder y diran:
‘Señor, ¿cuándo te vimos hambriento o sediento,
o forastero o desnudo o enfermo o en la cárcel,
y no atendimos a tus necesidades?
Él les responderá: “En verdad les digo,
lo que no hicieron por uno de estos más pequeños,
tampoco me lo hicieron a mí. ‘
entonces irán éstos al castigo eterno,
y los justos a la vida eterna. “
=================
Hoy celebramos a Cristo el Rey. ¡Adviento comienza la próxima semana! Las lecturas de este domingo nos señalan a Jesús como el Buen Pastor. Tenemos una idea de que Dios nuestro Señor es muy misericordioso y justo al mismo tiempo.
En la primera lectura del profeta Ezequiel, me llamó la atención la imagen de Dios como un pastor. “Yo mismo apacentaré a mis ovejas”. Dios buscará a los perdidos, los descarriados, los heridos y los enfermos. Y “la que está gorda y fuerte, la cuidaré.” Nuestros obispos llevan un báculo, que significa el bastón de pastor. Los pastores utilizan el gancho en el bastón para recuperar a los perdidos, así como para protegerse de los atacantes enemigos. El obispo es nuestro principal pastor de la diócesis.
En el Evangelio, tenemos la imagen del rey y del pastor. Jesús se sienta sobre su “trono glorioso, y todas las naciones se reunirán delante de él”. Desde su trono separará a las ovejas de los cabritos. ¿Cuál es el factor decisivo para separar las ovejas y las cabras? No es la mera aceptación de Jesús como nuestro Señor y salvador. Eso es importante. Jesús nos separa basado en nuestras acciones. Aquellos que alimentan a los hambrientos, visitan a los encarcelados y cuidan de los enfermos “heredarán el reino preparado para ustedes desde la fundación del mundo.” Aquellos que descuiden al hambriento, al enfermo, al preso y al extraño “irán al castigo eterno”.
En esta fiesta de Cristo Rey, se nos recuerda que tenemos un Dios que nos ama y se preocupa por nosotros, mientras que al mismo tiempo estamos llamados a poner nuestro amor en práctica. Jesús nunca nos pide que hagamos algo que él no hizo. Él sirvió a los hambrientos, a los sedientos, a los desnudos, a los encarcelados y a los marginados. ¿A quién estaría sirviendo Jesús hoy? Los no nacidos, los ancianos, los inmigrantes, los enfermos, los desamparados, los pobres, los condenados a muerte, cualquiera que sea desechado por la sociedad. Creo que el Señor conocerá a cada persona donde están, las amará y luego los llamará a la santidad.
¿He afirmado que Jesús es el Rey de mi vida?
¿Dejo que me ame y me guíe?
¿Pongo en acción el amor que Jesús ha puesto en mi corazón?
¿Cómo trato a los humildes y al pobre?
Nuestras acciones pueden tener consecuencias eternas.
¡Que tengas un fin de semana lleno de bendiciones!
Fr. Burke

Leave a comment