June 15, 2024 – Saturday of the 10th Week in Ordinary Time

June 15, 2024 – Saturday of the 10th Week in Ordinary Time

Matthew 5:33-37

Jesus said to his disciples:
“You have heard that it was said to your ancestors,
Do not take a false oath,
but make good to the Lord all that you vow.
But I say to you, do not swear at all;
not by heaven, for it is God’s throne;
nor by the earth, for it is his footstool;
nor by Jerusalem, for it is the city of the great King.
Do not swear by your head,
for you cannot make a single hair white or black.
Let your ‘Yes’ mean ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No’ mean ‘No.’
Anything more is from the Evil One.”

================================

Fr. Burke’s video for June 15 – https://youtu.be/X1b3OqF2HpI

CATHOLIC SPORTS CAMPS – Through the summer of 2024 we are offering great camps that combine our Catholic faith with great instruction. For more information or to register click here – https://www.catholicsportscamps.org

Today’s reading from the sermon on the mount reminds me of my parents. They always taught us to be men of our word. “Let your ‘Yes’ mean ‘Yes’ and your ‘No’ mean ‘No.’” When you give someone your word that you will do something, do it. People will know that they can count on you when you give them your word.

I thought of this when I was making promises as a deacon and a priest. Religious priests (Dominicans, Jesuits, Franciscans, etc.) and sisters usually take three vows: poverty, chastity and obedience. Diocesan priests like me make two promises, obedience and celibacy, and we are expected to live a life of simplicity consonant with the people that we serve. We also promise to pray the Liturgy of the Hours daily for the people of God. This is a book of prayers that includes Scripture readings, writings from the Church Fathers, petitions, psalms and hymns.

I made the promise of celibacy for the sake of the Kingdom. Has this been easy?  No, I experience temptations like anyone. However, the promise that I made was important to me, and so I joyfully give up marriage for the sake of Jesus and His Kingdom. I used to only think of the sacrifices of celibacy. I thought priesthood would mean that I would be lonely, bored and poor. I felt God was calling me to be a priest and wondered why He would call me to something that would make me miserable. After 22 years as a priest, I now count the blessings that I have received rather than look at what I was sacrificing. I have been surprised by the abundant intimacy I have experienced through this great gift of celibacy. I have experienced loneliness, but every human being experiences loneliness, even in the best of marriages. Loneliness is a gift from God that makes us reach out to Him.

When I promised obedience to my bishop and his successors, I wondered if I was completely giving up my freedom. How can someone in today’s culture promise their obedience to someone else? That is archaic, many have told me. However, I have found so much freedom in this promise of obedience. I don’t have to worry about my next assignment, about climbing the corporate ladder, or about getting my next raise. I trust that the Holy Spirit is working through our bishop, and I go where he sends me. In each of my assignments, I have trusted that the Lord was working through the bishop and there is much grace in the obedience.

Although diocesan priests do not take a vow of poverty, we are called to live simple lives. We should not be living better than the people that we serve. Jesus lived a very simple life and His followers shared everything in common so that no one was in need. We are called to live in the world but not of the world. The promises I made on ordination day have impacted many of my day-to-day decisions.

“Let your ‘Yes’ mean ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No’ mean ‘No.’” Making vows and promises are not easy, especially for the rest of your life. That is why many people are choosing not to get married, because they don’t want to commit to something forever. We would rather try it out and see how things go. Marrying someone before God requires you to make the vows of faithfulness and forever.  The vows of priesthood and religious life are very similar. In marriage, priesthood and religious life, we all ask God to be the center of our lifetime commitments. I want to encourage you, especially if you are afraid to take these vows or promises in your vocation. Trust the Lord. Ask for His grace. He will sustain you if you entrust everything into His hands.

Each day of our lives we are asked to give our word to someone. When it is done with faith that God will give you the grace and strength to persevere, these vows and promises can lead to great joy and freedom.

Does my ‘Yes’ mean ‘Yes’ and my ‘No’ mean ‘No?’

How well am I living out the vows and promises I have made?

Do I trust in God’s grace to help me in my weakest moments?

Have a blessed weekend!

Fr. Burke 

Fr. Burke’s blog – https://frburke23.wordpress.com

Fr. Burke’s YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOt-ntVKl9ko98Yd7uiuWOA

St. Isaac Jogues Church website – https://sij.net/

St. Isaac Jogues parish YouTube channel – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8oDHtwLm7E_seoCj1ndzKA

===========================

Prayer schedule for Saturday, June 15, 2024 (all times Central)

8:00am – Mass with Fr. Burke

8:30am – Confessions with Fr. Burke & Fr. Raed

2:00pm – Baptism with Deacon Paul

3:30pm – Confessions with Fr. Burke & Fr. Raed

4:30pm – Mass with Fr. Raed

===========================

15 de junio de 2024 – Sábado de la 10ª Semana del Tiempo Ordinario

Mateo 5, 33-37

En aquel tiempo, Jesús dijo a sus discípulos: “Han oído ustedes que se dijo a los antiguos: No jurarás en falso y le cumplirás al Señor lo que le hayas prometido con juramento. Pero yo les digo: No juren de ninguna manera, ni por el cielo, que es el trono de Dios; ni por la tierra, porque es donde él pone los pies; ni por Jerusalén, que es la ciudad del gran Rey.

Tampoco jures por tu cabeza, porque no puedes hacer blanco o negro uno solo de tus cabellos. Digan simplemente sí, cuando es sí; y no, cuando es no. Lo que se diga de más, viene del maligno’’.

==========================

Fr. Burke’s video for June 15 – https://youtu.be/X1b3OqF2HpI

CATHOLIC SPORTS CAMPS – Through the summer of 2024 we are offering great camps that combine our Catholic faith with great instruction. For more information or to register click here – https://www.catholicsportscamps.org

Promotional Video with Mike Sweeney for the Catholic Baseball / Softball Camp – https://youtu.be/BaXvoGCI5aQ

La lectura de hoy del sermón en el monte me recuerda a mis padres. Ellos siempre nos enseñaron a ser hombres de palabra. “Deje que su ‘Sí’ signifique ‘Sí’ y su ‘No’ signifique ‘No'”. Cuando le dé a alguien su palabra de que hará algo, hágalo. Las personas sabrán que pueden contar con usted cuando les dé su palabra.


Pensé en esto cuando hacía promesas como diácono y sacerdote. Los sacerdotes religiosos (dominicanos, jesuitas, franciscanos, etc.) y las hermanas religiosas suelen tomar tres votos: pobreza, castidad y obediencia. Sacerdotes diocesanos como yo hacen dos promesas, obediencia y celibato, y se espera que vivamos una vida de sencillez con las personas a las que servimos.  También prometemos rezar la Liturgia de las Horas diariamente por el pueblo de Dios. Este es un libro de oraciones que incluye lecturas de Biblia, escritos de los Padres de la Iglesia, peticiones, salmos e himnos.

Hice la promesa del celibato por el bien del Reino.  ¿Ha sido fácil?  No, experimento tentaciones como cualquiera.  Sin embargo, la promesa que hice fue importante para mí, por lo que con gozo renuncio al matrimonio por el bien de Jesús y Su Reino.  Solía pensar sólo en los sacrificios del celibato. Pensé que el sacerdocio significaría que estaría solo, aburrido y pobre. Sentí que Dios me estaba llamando a ser sacerdote y me pregunté por qué me llamaría a algo que me haría miserable. Después de 22 años como sacerdote, ahora cuento las bendiciones que he recibido en lugar de mirar lo que estaba sacrificando. Me ha sorprendido la abundante intimidad que he experimentado a través de este gran don del celibato. He experimentado la soledad, pero todo ser humano experimenta soledad, incluso en el mejor de los matrimonios.  La soledad es un don de Dios que nos hace tenderle la mano.

Cuando prometí obediencia a mi obispo y a sus sucesores, me pregunté si estaba renunciando por completo a mi libertad.  ¿Cómo puede alguien en la cultura actual prometer su obediencia a otra persona? Eso es arcaico, muchos me lo han dicho. Sin embargo, he encontrado tanta libertad en esta promesa de obediencia. No tengo que preocuparme por mi próxima tarea, por escalar la escalera corporativa o por obtener mi próximo aumento. Confío en que el Espíritu Santo está obrando a través de nuestro obispo y voy donde él me envía. En cada una de mis asignaciones, he confiado en que el Señor estaba trabajando por medio del obispo y hay mucha gracia en la obediencia.

Aunque los sacerdotes diocesanos no hacen un voto de pobreza, estamos llamados a vivir vidas sencillas. No deberíamos vivir mejor que las personas a las que servimos. Jesús vivió una vida muy sencilla y Sus seguidores compartieron todo en común para que nadie lo necesitase. Estamos llamados a vivir en el mundo, pero no en el mundo. Las promesas que hice el día de la ordenación han impactado en muchas de mis decisiones diarias.


“Deje que su ‘Sí’ signifique ‘Sí’ y su ‘No’ signifique ‘No.'” Hacer votos y promesas no es fácil, especialmente por el resto de su vida. Es por eso que muchas personas eligen no casarse, porque no quieren comprometerse con algo para siempre. Preferimos probarlo y ver cómo van las cosas. Casarse con alguien ante Dios requiere que hagas los votos de fidelidad y para siempre.  Los votos del sacerdocio y de la vida religiosa son muy similares. En el matrimonio, el sacerdocio y la vida religiosa, todos pedimos a Dios que sea el centro de nuestros compromisos de por vida. Quiero animarte, especialmente si tienes miedo de hacer estos votos o promesas en tu vocación. Confía en el Señor. Pide su gracia. Él te sostendrá si confías todo en Sus manos.

Cada día de nuestras vidas se nos pide que demos nuestra palabra a alguien. Cuando se hace con fe de que Dios te dará la gracia y la fuerza para perseverar, estos votos y promesas pueden conducir a gran alegría y libertad.


¿Mi “Sí” significa “Sí” y mi “No” significa “No”?
¿Qué tan bien estoy viviendo los votos y promesas que he hecho?
¿Confío en la gracia de Dios para ayudarme en mis momentos más débiles?
 
¡Que tengas un bendecido fin de semana!
P. Burke

Fr. Burke’s blog – https://frburke23.wordpress.com

Fr. Burke’s YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOt-ntVKl9ko98Yd7uiuWOA

St. Isaac Jogues Church website – https://sij.net/

St. Isaac Jogues parish YouTube channel – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8oDHtwLm7E_seoCj1ndzKA

Leave a comment