Thought for Thursday, 5th Week of Lent

John 8:51-59 Jesus said to the Jews: “Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever keeps my word will never see death.” So the Jews said to him, “Now we are sure that you are possessed. Abraham died, as did the prophets, yet you say, ‘Whoever keeps my word will never taste death.’ Are you greater than our father Abraham, who died? Or the prophets, who died? Who do you make yourself out to be?” Jesus answered, “If I glorify myself, my glory is worth nothing; but it is my Father who glorifies me, of whom you say, ‘He is our God.’ You do not know him, but I know him. And if I should say that I do not know him, I would be like you a liar. But I do know him and I keep his word. Abraham your father rejoiced to see my day; he saw it and was glad.” So the Jews said to him, “You are not yet fifty years old and you have seen Abraham?” Jesus said to them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, before Abraham came to be, I AM.” So they picked up stones to throw at him; but Jesus hid and went out of the temple area.

___________________________________________________________

What a promise Jesus makes to us today:  “whoever keeps my word will never see death”.  The religious leaders couldn’t bear to hear these words because all of their great ancestors died, like Abraham, and Jesus was claiming that He was better than their father in faith.  They didn’t understand that Jesus was talking about the resurrection – that those who keep His word would be raised from the dead and live forever in heaven.

I just finished a parish mission based on the book Made for More by Curtis Martin. In the book, he says that Jesus was not crucified because of His message. He was crucified because He claimed equality with God. Jesus says, “…before Abraham came to be, I AM.” I AM was the sacred name for God. It was the name that God identified Himself to Moses in the burning bush. So when Jesus says, “I AM” He is in essence saying that He was God. That is why they picked up stones to kill Him, but Jesus escaped because it wasn’t His hour yet.

Therefore, Jesus is not just calling us to accept His message of love and mercy. He is asking us to accept Him as our savior, as the Son of God. Jesus’ mission was to fulfill the mission of the Father as He says, “I keep his word.” Jesus has an intimate relationship with the Father and calls us to do the same. We are called to unite ourselves to the Father in prayer and seek His will above all else.

Once again, that promise that Jesus makes us is extraordinary, “whoever keeps my word will never see death”.  Our bodies will die one day, but if we stay faithful to Jesus’ word we will live forever. In other words, when we make Jesus the Lord of our lives, He gives us a new perspective. Death is not the end. I should not focus my life on amassing material wealth because I can’t take it with me to heaven. I should focus my life on building up treasure in heaven, by loving God and my neighbor, by feeding the hungry, visiting the sick, clothing the naked, etc.

Am I building up treasure in heaven or on earth?

Do I truly accept Jesus as the Lord of my life?

Does His promise give me hope and focus?

God bless!

fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com

Here is the Spanish translation:

Juan 8:51-59

Jesús dijo a los Judíos: “En verdad, en verdad les digo, el que guarda mi palabra nunca verá la muerte”. Así que los judíos le dijeron: “Ahora estamos seguros de que estás poseído. Abraham murió, como lo hicieron los profetas, sin embargo dices: ” El que guarda mi palabra nunca probara la muerte. ‘ Acaso eres más que nuestro padre Abraham, el cual murió? O los profetas, que murieron? ¿Quién pretendes ser tú?” Jesús respondió: ” Si yo me glorifico a mí mismo, mi gloria no vale nada; pero es mi Padre el que me glorifica, de quien ustedes dicen: “Él es nuestro Dios.” Ustedes no lo conocen, pero yo lo conozco. Y si yo dijera que no lo conozco, Seria como ustedes, un mentiroso. Pero yo lo conozco y guardo su palabra. Abraham su padre se gozó por ver mi día; lo vio y se alegró”. Así que los Judíos le dijeron: “¿Aún no tienes cincuenta años y has visto a Abraham?” Jesús respondió: “En verdad, en verdad les digo, antes de que Abraham existiera, Yo Soy”. Así que tomaron piedras para arrojárselas; pero Jesús se escondió y salió del área del templo.

______________________________________________________

Qué promesa Jesús nos hace hoy: el que guarda mi palabra nunca verá la muerte”. Los líderes religiosos no podían soportar oír estas palabras, porque todos sus grandes antepasados ​​murieron, como Abraham, y Jesús estaba alegando que él era mejor que su padre en la fe. Ellos no entendían que Jesús estaba hablando de la resurrección – que aquellos que guardan Su palabra serán levantados de entre los muertos y vivirán para siempre en el cielo.

Acabo de terminar una misión parroquial basada en el libro Made for More por Curtis Martin. En el libro, el dice que Jesús no fue crucificado a causa de Su mensaje. Él fue crucificado porque Él afirmó ser igual a Dios. Jesús dice: “… antes que Abraham fuese, YO SOY.” YO SOY era el nombre sagrado de Dios. Era el nombre que Dios se identificó a sí mismo a Moisés en la zarza ardiente. Así que cuando Jesús dice: “YO SOY” Él es, en esencia, diciendo que Él era Dios. Es por eso que ellos recogieron piedras para matarlo, pero Jesús se escapó porque aún no era su hora.

Por lo tanto, Jesús no sólo nos llama a aceptar su mensaje de amor y misericordia. Él nos está pidiendo que lo aceptemos como nuestro salvador, como el Hijo de Dios. La misión de Jesús era de cumplir la misión del Padre como Él dice: “Yo guardo su palabra.” Jesús tiene una relación íntima con el Padre, y nos llama a hacer lo mismo. Estamos llamados a unirnos al Padre en oración y buscar su voluntad por encima de todo.

Una vez más, esa promesa que Jesús nos hace es extraordinaria, “el que guarda mi palabra nunca verá la muerte”. Nuestros cuerpos morirán un día, pero si nos mantenemos fieles a la palabra de Jesús viviremos para siempre. En otras palabras, cuando hacemos a Jesús el Señor de nuestras vidas, Él nos da una nueva perspectiva. La muerte no es el final. No debería enfocar mi vida en la acumulación de riqueza material, porque no puedo llevarla conmigo al cielo. Debo enfocar mi vida en edificar tesoros en el cielo, amando a Dios y a mí prójimo, alimentando a los hambrientos, visitando a los enfermos, vestir al desnudo, etc.

¿Estoy construyendo tesoros en el cielo o en la tierra? ¿Realmente acepto a Jesús como el Señor de mi vida? ¿Su promesa me da esperanza y enfoque?

¡Dios los bendiga!

Fr. Burke

https://frburke23.wordpress.com

One thought on “Thought for Thursday, 5th Week of Lent

Leave a comment